Weekend Without Kids

Leave a comment

October 4, 2011 by Gina

Wow – what a weekend! I had this weekend off – sort of.  I worked at my part-time job this weekend, but I had the weekend off from being a mom.  My husband, Brian, took our boys (Finn – 2 and Getty – 3 months) to Grandma and Grandpa’s for the entire weekend!!! Can you hear me shouting with glee?

This may sound terrible, but I could hardly wait for them all to leave Friday night.  I mean, this NEVER happens.  The only place Brian has taken both boys is to urgent care and he only took both of them because I was at work that day.  So, needless to say, it was practically a Christmas miracle that I had an entire weekend to myself.  I really can’t even remember the last time I was in my own home by myself for even an hour (the cat was home too, but I could do an entire blog just about Flint).

I had so many things I wanted to do; run, shop, read my book, get some continuing education done for work, drink some wine, go out to dinner with a friend, cook a meal for a friend who just had a baby, go to the bank, mail some packages, SLEEP uninterrupted….the list just kept going and going and going.  How would I ever fit it all into such a short period of time?

I think time moved faster this weekend because those 46 hours went by so quickly.  I accomplished most of the things on my list and the ones I didn’t get done will get done eventually.  I didn’t clean the house at all (I did do a few loads of laundry) and I finished my book (“Love Walked In” by Marisa de Los Santos – definitely worth the read).  My friend, Suzzi, and I had a tasty dinner at 128 Café in downtown St. Paul and enjoyed catching up on each other’s lives.  It was so nice to go to bed and know that I didn’t have to listen for anyone – consciously or unconsciously.

Of course, I missed my family and all the noise and fun that goes along with them.  But they had a great time with their grandparents and all their cousins and aunts and uncles.  And…it was nice for my husband to really realize how tiring it is to be up multiple times in the middle of the night with an infant (he sleeps through everything at home).  We were all so excited to see each other when the car pulled into the driveway and I was there waiting for them.  Most importantly, my mental health was restored and I felt like I had more energy after a much needed break.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

