Deals and Steals on the Internet

Leave a comment

October 6, 2011 by Gina

I LOVE a deal, a sale, a steal – you name it – if it’s on sale, I want to know about it.  I just don’t have time to do traditional shopping at real stores anymore.  I could go to real stores if I wanted, but dragging a 2 year old and a newborn into the Loft and trying on clothes is not my idea of a good time.  So I have turned my attention to online shopping.  I’ll share a few of my favorite sites with you today.

First, there’s Amazon.  I know what you are thinking – this is nothing new.  No, it isn’t but I still love the site.  You can get almost anything on Amazon and most items arrive at your doorstep in 2 business days!  I have ordered diapers, gluten free snacks, a lemon zester and yes, books from Amazon.  I stepped up my purchases from Amazon after I discovered their “Amazon Mom” program.  It’s free to join and you get 30% off diapers when you order and free shipping.  For every $25 in qualified purchases (mainly baby/children’s items) you get one month of free 2-day shipping!  Here are their FAQs.  You just can’t beat diapers arriving at your doorstep rather than lugging them from your cart into the car and then into the house! Heck, I just bought cat urine remover! I’ll be waiting by the mailbox!

Other fun sites that cater to moms with kids include Zulily, Mamabargains, Baby Steals and Kid Steals.  Zulily has multiple deals in one day from handbags to children’s clothes to women’s clothes and books.  I have ordered many things from Zulily – most recently, some cute shoes from Aerosoles at 60% off.  My only complaint is that sometimes it can take several weeks to get the product which can be a bummer.  Babysteals and Kidsteals are run by the same group but Babysteals has two deals a day and Kidsteals only has one deal a day.  They have great deals and ship quickly.  You do need to get the deal quickly, however, because they go fast! Mamabargains has a deal until it runs out so they can have multiple deals on the same day.  They tend to repeat items frequently and also take awhile to ship.

I recently discovered RueLaLa which has multiple deals each day and tends to be more designer items.  Recently they had Betsey Johnson clothing, Dolce & Gabana and Calvin Klein. They have stuff for women, men, kids and home so it covers everything.  I haven’t purchased anything yet, but there’s always tomorrow.

I have also made purchases from Livingsocial, Groupon, Crowd Cut.  I think of these deal websites as “event” deals – you can get a 2-night stay somewhere for half price or a massage at 65% off or one month of unlimited yoga at a local yoga studio.  I’ve purchased a 2-night stay at a resort 4 hours north of Minneapolis, a photo session with a local photographer and half off at a local
restaurant.

With all of these websites, you can sign up to get an email each day on what their deals are so you can see if anything interests you that day. Warning – your inbox will be full! Of course, that might make you feel good in the morning when you have 37 unread emails.  Until you discover that none are from your contacts!  These are all great sites and if you shop judiciously, you can get some great deals on everything for you, your family and your home. Happy shopping!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

