Dinner {Chicken Tamale Casserole}

Leave a comment

October 17, 2011 by Carin

Everyone needs a delicious, easy and fast meal during the week.  I found this recipe in Cooking Light a few years ago and we have loved it ever since I first made it.  It is good, and so easy.  Even my two year old loves this meal and she can be picky some nights. 

 Tonight I did deviate from the recipe a little, though by accident, but the casserole turned out just as good, even slightly better.  I mistakenly bought canned sweet corn instead of cream corn.  I didn’t even realize the mistake until I started to pour the corn into the bowl with the other ingredients.  I was able to stop myself before I got the whole can in and all the liquid.  I was able to pour out the liquid, drain rest of the can and add the remaining sweet corn to the bowl.  I thought I had killed dinner, but it great.  I loved the whole pieces of corn; it helped give some texture to an otherwise pretty smooth dish.  I also liked that the dish wasn’t as sweet as it can be with the cream corn.  Next time I make this dish, I will be substituting the cream corn with sweet corn. 

 For the chicken portion of the recipe, I lightly salt and pepper two chicken breasts and cook them on the stove, then slice them thinly before adding them to the casserole.  To make this even faster, you could pick up a rotisserie chicken from the store and shred the meat before adding and it would be just as delicious.

 Some additions to round out the meal could be a side of black beans, avocado, a green salad or some fruit.

  Chicken Tamale Casserole via Cooking Light

 Ingredients

  • 1 cup (4 ounces) pre-shredded 4-cheese Mexican blend cheese, divided
  • 1/3 cup fat-free milk
  • 1/4 cup egg substitute (I use 1 large egg)
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground red pepper
  • 1 (14 3/4-ounce) can cream-style corn (or 1 can sweet corn, water drained)
  • 1 (8.5-ounce) box corn muffin mix (such as Martha White) (Jiffy in the blue box works great)
  • 1 (4-ounce) can chopped green chiles, drained
  • Cooking spray
  • 1 (10-ounce) can red enchilada sauce (such as Old El Paso)
  • 2 cups shredded cooked chicken breast
  • 1/2 cup fat-free sour cream

 Preparation

1. Preheat oven to 400°.

2. Combine 1/4 cup cheese and next 7 ingredients (through chiles) in a large bowl, stirring just until moist. Pour mixture into a 13 x 9–inch baking dish coated with cooking spray.

3. Bake at 400° for 15 minutes or until set. Pierce entire surface liberally with a fork; pour enchilada sauce over top. Top with chicken; sprinkle with remaining 3/4 cup cheese. Bake at 400° for 15 minutes or until cheese melts. Remove from oven; let stand 5 minutes. Cut into 8 pieces; top each serving with 1 tablespoon sour cream.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

