Birth Story

Leave a comment

October 20, 2011 by Melissa

You never know what your birth story(ies) will be like and I definitely was not expecting the birth of my second daughter to go like it did.  Don’t get me wrong, it was better than most and we were both healthy enough to leave the hospital within 30 hours but there were certain assumptions I couldn’t help but have.  I was assuming that because my first child was two weeks early all on her own, this one would go early, too (at least that was what I was hoping for as I was ridiculously uncomfortable toward the end of this pregnancy and my first was smooth sailing throughout). It was not to be-I had to be induced at 39 weeks (I’m a Type 1 Diabetic).  I was very lucky in that when I went to the hospital I was already dilated to 4+ centimeters so I assumed that my pain amount would be about the same as it was with Lucy-tough but manageable until the relief of a sweet epidural.  Wrong again.  Soon after they broke my water, contractions started coming hard and fast and they had already hooked up the Pitocin IV.  When the first pitocin contraction hit, I looked at my husband and said “Oh my God.”  That was right before I started bawling from the pain and there was no relief-contractions came every two minutes lasting almost 90 seconds.  I had been prepared to try natural childbirth but those contractions were amazing.  Within 15 minutes the sweet anesthesiologist arrived and put in my epidural.  I had about an hour of relief before the pressure to push became unbearable.  I was checked by the nurse and was, thankfully, ready to go.  I didn’t know what to expect here-I had pushed for 2 ½ hours with Lucy-what would happen this time?  I assumed it would be just s tough.  I needn’t have worried-I pushed for just over 15 minutes.  We did have a scary moment when her shoulders got stuck (she was over 9 pounds) but with strong pushes and some manual help from the doctor pushing on my belly she popped out.  Within minutes she was skin to skin with me and rooting for my breast which she latched onto like a pro.  I cried at that point as Lucy was so difficult to breastfeed at the beginning.  These two girls were so different already.

How am I lucky enough to have two healthy girls?

Oh my god…

I have two kids…

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

