Oh that’s right, I’m an adult…

Leave a comment

November 7, 2011 by Melissa

This past Saturday the three of us, our husbands and our six kids got together for some great food (thank you to Carin) and drink and some accompanying great conversation and playtime for the kids.  It made me realize how much I need that regular adult friend contact and how rejuvenating it is to experience.  To laugh, to drink, to discuss adult topics, to share parenting and marriage mishaps-it all made me feel like myself again.  When you have a newborn at home, it’s easy to get so engrossed in their day to day existence and your own state of being tired and of healing.  Plus, most adults that stop over or call really just ask about Alice and Lucy-that’s the point of their visit, after all.  There are a lot of days I just want to talk about the book I’m reading, the music I’ve discovered, the article in Time, the recipe I’ve found, how I’m trying to figure out how to squeeze in a workout, blogging ideas I have-you know, non-baby/non-parenting stuff.

That’s the biggest thing I miss about working outside the home-having my own world with lots of adult contact.  While I love being home with my girls, there are days that are hard to get through-just like when I was working there were days it was nearly impossible to leave Lucy at daycare and be away from her all day.  That’s a whole other blog for another day, however.

Every once in a while I need to make plans with friends, get a babysitter to be able to go on a date,  or be by myself.  I need to remind myself from time to time that I am more than a mama…

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

