Baking {Granola}

2

November 10, 2011 by Carin

One of my favorite breakfasts is yogurt, fruit and cottage cheese mixed together and topped with granola.  An odd combination for some, but it works for me and really helps me get through the morning without feeling hungry.  If you haven’t noticed though, granola can be really expensive.  A small 12 oz bag can run anywhere from $5-$8, which can get expensive when you eat it everyday.  So, I started making my own which saves me a lot of money and is customized to what I and my family likes.  My recipe is a combination of several I have seen throughout the years and does change depending on what nuts and dried fruit we have around the house or what I am in the mood for. 

 Granola is really easy to make if you have never made it before and is great topping on yogurt, ice cream, oatmeal, eaten as cereal with milk or as a dried snack.  Also, it would make a great teacher gift for the holidays, hostess gift for a foodie, or if you are into giving gifts to say the mailman or newspaper delivery person.  Place the granola in a cellophane bag, wrap a pretty ribbon around the top with a pretty gift tag and you are good to give.  Have fun with this recipe and don’t be limited by what I put in mine, customize it to your liking.

What you will need

My granola recipe below as follows

 Combine the following ingredients in a large bowl

4 cups of old-fashioned oats

1 cup wheat germ

4 Tbsp. brown sugar

1 cup ground flax

1 cup walnuts

1 cup almonds

A pinch of salt

 In a saucepan combine the following ingredients and bring to a boil. 

 ¼ cup + 2 Tbsp canola or vegetable oil

½ cup maple syrup, honey or agave

2 Tbsp water

Optional flavoring if you desire vanilla or almond extract

Add to the dry ingredients and stir till everything is wet.  Cover one or two baking sheets with cooking spray.  Pour the granola on the baking sheet(s) and spread out to form an even layer.

Spread the granola out in an even layer

   Bake at 275 degrees for 30 minutes.  After 30 minutes, add any dried fruit if you wish (cranraisins are my favorite) and bake for another 15 minutes. 

Adding in the dried fruit

Remove from oven and let cool before placing in an airtight container. If you want to add any type of chip – say chocolate, yogurt or butterscotch, do so after the granola has cooled completely.

Yummy golden brown granola!

 Enjoy! 

 

Do you make your own granola?  What are your favorite add-ins?

2 thoughts on “Baking {Granola}

  1. Jen H says:

    You know my husband is a granola eating machine. My winter granola is his favorite and the favorite mix-ins are dried cherries and if I really want to get him excited – dried strawberries.

    • Carin says:

      I will have to try dried strawberries next time. I tried dried blueberries this time, but not a huge fan, too hard and way to sweet. But Grace loves them, probably becuase the sugar… and that is just what she needs!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

