Things On My Mind {11.11.11}

Leave a comment

November 11, 2011 by Gina

Here are a few things on my mind today…

1.  Today is Veteran’s Day – a national holiday that has its roots in Armistice Day.  In 1938, a congressional act made the 11th of November in each year a legal holiday—a day to be dedicated to the cause of world peace and to be thereafter celebrated and known as “Armistice Day.” Armistice Day was primarily a day set aside to honor veterans of World War I, but in 1954, after World War II and the Korean War, Congress amended the Act of 1938 by striking out the word “Armistice” and inserting in its place the word “Veterans.” With the approval of this legislation, on June 1, 1954, November 11th became a day to honor American veterans of all wars.

Please take a moment today to remember the veterans you know or to thank a neighbor, friend or relative that has served in our nation’s armed forces.  Whether you agree with the conflicts we are engaged in or not, military service members and veterans make great sacrifices to serve our country.  My grandfather was a veteran of World War II, my uncle is a veteran of the Vietnam War and my husband is a veteran of the war in Afghanistan.  I stand on their shoulders and so many others as an Army veteran myself.

2.  Today is November 11, 2011 or 11.11.11!  I love that today the date is made up of one number only.  It’s so orderly, neat & symmetrical!  I remember as a kid, I loved it when I would look at the clock and the display read “11:11”.  I have that same feeling today – a date that will not recur for another 100 years.

3. I’m at my grandma’s right now in South Dakota and it is so great to reconnect with family.  Most of my cousins and aunts and uncles live here too and I don’t get to see them very often.  My grandma is one of the most important people in my life and has taught me so much.  I love seeing her with my sons and having her meet Getty for the first time.  These are treasured moments!

 

 

Thanks for stopping by and we will see you  here next week.  Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

