Now vs Then

2

November 14, 2011 by Melissa

People ask me a lot if I miss working outside the home. It’s a hard question to answer because I do and I don’t. If you had asked me ten years ago if I’d ever be a stay at home mom, I’d have said no way. I could never have seen myself doing this, doing it well, or even liking it. But then I had my kids and things changed. While I didn’t necessarily choose this line of work (my husband’s travel schedule for his job made it impossible to maintain my job with its odd hours), I do like being home with my girls. I do, however, miss certain aspects of working outside the home:
-buying and wearing professional looking clothes and shoes
-oddly, the commute as it was time just to myself with my own music or audio books
-being given feedback on my work, good or bad-I question myself constantly these days…
-having conversations with other adults all day, good or bad
-the money; contributing to the financial well-being of our family
-my daughter getting social contact with other kids every day
-being able to hand her over when she’s crabby

Things I definitely don’t miss about working outside the house:
-the tearful daycare drop-offs
-the hectic mornings, with all the yelling and craziness
-a dirty house
-the feeling that someone else was raising my child
-the guilt that I wasn’t doing enough for my child or enough for my career

I do plan on going back to work and still apply for great jobs when I see them but with this economy, I know it’ll be a while. I’m fine with that. I get to teach my girls and cater to their interests, they get love and affection all day long from their mama, and I get to watch them learn and figure their world out every day. It really is a great life and I’m so lucky to be able to do it…

2 thoughts on “Now vs Then

  1. biodork says:

    I’ve wondered what it would be like to to be a housewife – to be able to focus on the projects around the house, keeping it clean, caring for houseplants and gardens, taking time to prepare pretty, yummy, healthy meals all the time! But the finances (and ultimate goal of getting into med school) mean that that’s not in my plans. Aaron says that we could take a working vacation to get a little sense of self and home (he proposed two weeks), but so far I haven’t convinced myself that I want to spend my PTO that way!

    • Melissa says:

      Some days are better than others as far as getting things done but it is nice to have the time to focus and hammer away at ideas. We definitely eat better and I’m a much better cook than I used to be. Good luck with med school apps, Brianne, and thanks for reading our blog!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

