Confession Tuesday

4

November 15, 2011 by Carin

I am going to preface this confession with this, I love my kids more than anything, they fill my heart up with so much love that it could burst; I would do anything to protect them, keep them safe and make them happy.  But to be honest, one thing I hate is playing!  I am a stay-at-home mom who hates to play toddler play and it can make some days feel really long.  It is the jumping around from one thing to the next.  For example, Grace and I love to paint, but when it lasts only 5 minutes and she is on to something else, I go bonkers.  Why can’t we paint for 30 minutes, why only 5?  I realize, she is only 2.5 yrs old, and this is how they work, but really, it is hard for an adult, any adult.  Playing kitchen and having to eat the same cupcake over and over while faking delight at the deliciousness of said cupcake and having my glass filled with tea numerous times.  Doing the same thing over and over or the lack of attention to anything can make some days long.  Trying to make a suggestion and directing the play to something kind of interesting, usually results in being shut down by my bundle of energy.  She want to play what she wants when she wants, it is her play time.

I realize this is my problem and not Grace’s problem, I start to think of what I could be doing around the house, emails I need to respond to and dinner I could be prepping instead of playing. 

I know that kids need parents that play with them; it helps them learn about themselves and their surroundings, and how to relate to things.  They often use play to work through things they have seen around them.  It is valuable in so many ways that parents can’t get away from it when in the midst of toddlerhood. 

 So I do play because it makes her happy and seeing her discover new things, laugh and have fun is worth more than any feeling I have towards her style of play.  I suck it up, eat my cupcake, and drink my tea, laugh and smile.  It makes her day and always puts a smile on her face.  Isn’t that what playing with your kids is all about?  And I constantly remind myself of that everyday.

 Do you feel this way about toddler play or something else you do with your kids? 

4 thoughts on “Confession Tuesday

  1. Marie-louise Cooper says:

    I do! Not that I don’t play with Her, but sometimes its ok for me to be doing something else while she plays, as long as we’re in the same room or I sit on the floor with her, occasionally taste the imaginary food or help her with the puzzle. I’ll be reading the paper, do Fb on the ipad or knitting. I tell myself it mimics paralel play.. And then I guess I feel better. Sienna will sometimes want to do what I do ofcourse, but mostly she seems content. And I think it’s healthy for her to initiate her own play. Sending lots of love! ML

    • Carin says:

      Thanks for the comments ML, I know I am not the only parent out there, but sometimes I feel like it. Hope you guys are doing well, you seem very happy!

  2. anne says:

    I hate playing!!! The only way I think I could experience full-fledged joy in playing would be if I had a live-in maid (or, a wife!) who did all the cleaning, cooking, shopping, etc. So then I could be free to play and actually have fun, without constantly thinking about what I COULD be doing. I think oldest children have the most trouble playing independently. It was just this summer (age of 4) that Ryan started actually playing by himself sometimes. He’s also way better at playing independently if Sam is playing in the same room as him. I know it’s so important to be in the present moment with your kids, but when the same ‘moment’ is repeated 84 times in a row, it’s so hard. One of the hardest things about parenting, I’d say! (Will Grace clean or “work” with you, so that you can get something done at the same time that she feels like it’s playing?)
    Oh look, I blogged about this two years ago, when Ryan was 2.5!
    http://fatj.wordpress.com/2009/11/19/tft-playing-with-your-kids/

  3. Melissa says:

    My husband laughed so hard at this post, Carin-he says he spends most of his playtime with Lucy leading her away from her box of doll clothes that she wants him to dress her dolls in. She makes him dress each doll, then undress, then dress in something else, then undress-it’s his least favorite thing in the world…
    Totally agree about the hideousness that is playtime…”Mama play, too?”

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

