More Than Just a Book Club

3

December 28, 2011 by Gina

I’ve always loved to read.  As a young girl, I would read two or three books at a time and if I was momentarily tired of one book, I’d just start-up where I left off on the next book I was reading.  Books take me to new places and some old places I love, teach me new vocabulary, give me history lessons and connect me with readers around the globe.  I can take my reading with me wherever I go – it’s cheap, portable and easy to do.

So, a few years ago when Melissa mentioned she was in a book club and asked if I wanted to join her book club, I jumped at the chance!  I had always wanted to be in a book club and now I’m part of two.  We read fiction, non-fiction, adolescent books and books I would never choose to read myself but usually enjoy.  We meet on the second Tuesday of the month and get together at each other’s homes throughout the Twin Cities metro area.

Here are a few of the books we’ve read this year:

  • The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot (fascinating!)
  • The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid by Bill Bryson (not my favorite from Bryson, but still funny)
  • The Imperfectionists by Tom Rachman
  • Dirty Secrets: A Hoarding Memoir by Jessie Sholl (I know a few hoarders so this was really interesting)
  • The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin (didn’t love this book, but made me think)
  • The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (I loved this book so much I read the next two books and they are all FABULOUS!!)
  • Room by Emma Donahue
  • Moloka’i by Alan Barnett (really interesting)

We enjoy a meal, usually some wine, talk about the book and then catch up on each other’s lives.  Surprisingly, we talk quite a bit about the book we’ve all just read (or will plan to read when life is a bit slower) and about other books we’re all reading independently.

But for me, this book club is about much more than the books we read.  It’s my guaranteed night out without my kids once a month and I look forward to it.  I love connecting with all of these women – we’ve really gotten to know each other over these years.  We share so much more than the books we read.  In 2011 we’ve welcomed four babies – Getty, Myer, Alice and Olen – and most of these newborns have made appearances at the book club.  We know that at least two more babies will be born in 2012 and we’re sharing tips and eagerly anticipating these babies for our first time moms in our group!  We also will have a member get married in 2012 and can’t wait to see the wedding dress and hear about all the plans.

We’ve laughed together, cried together and continue to learn about one another and from each other.  We share so much more than the books we read (I know I already said that but it’s worth repeating).  Ladies, if you are reading this blog…thank you for being part of my life and for sharing in my love of reading!  I look forward to a literary 2012 and to all the things that lie ahead for each of us.  See you in a few weeks – I haven’t even started the book yet.

3 thoughts on “More Than Just a Book Club

  1. colette says:

    Gina-
    I am reading this and thanks for the shout out. I as well look forward to our monthly book club and only partially for the book. I have started this month’s book and look forward to reading it each night before I go to bed or even at 3:43 am when I wake up and I can’t fall asleep.
    See you in January!

    Colette

  2. June Schubert says:

    what’s your book for this month?

  3. Gina says:

    It’s “Mrs. Kimble” by Jennifer Haigh – I haven’t started it yet but have it ready to go on my Kindle (it was only $1.99 which is great!). If anyone has suggestions for a good book, let me know – I’m hosting in February.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

