Things On My Mind {12.30.11}

3

December 30, 2011 by Melissa

So, we’re going to start potty training Lucy pretty soon so she and I went to look at big girl underwear.  She was gaga about the Thomas the Train underwear for boys.  We didn’t buy any that day but I thought about the fact that both boys and girls have the same body shape when they’re that age so, damn it, I’m buying her the boy underwear.  She can wear it under her favorite pink tutu skirt she got for Christmas.  I don’t know that boys ever use that little flap in their underwear so why can’t they make gender neutral underwear?

We were discussing the website First World Problems at Christmas dinner.  It’s funny to realize how ridiculous in the grand scheme of the world our little problems and complaints are.  So now it’s our new saying in the family: “Oh, we have too many leftovers,” – First World Problem. “Target is out of bittersweet baking chocolate!” – First World Problem…

My favorite app on my smart phone?  The Hennepin County Library mobile app.  It’s fantastic and I use it probably every day-I can put titles on hold, reserve items, and just research titles.  Great for any book lover.

I just started The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern and it’s got a great magical quality about it that reminds me of Audrey Niffenegger or Kate DiCamillo.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

Gina and Carin are trying to get me to sign up for a 5K this March-10 weeks away.  Now, we’re entering the coldest season of the year in Minnesota, I don’t have a treadmill or a gym membership, nor do I own a pair of running shoes and can’t really afford them.  And I’m slightly scared to attempt this, to be honest.  I used to be a runner but then hurt my knee and have been too skittish to try it.  I love working out, don’t get me wrong.  But running is a mind game, isn’t it?  Do I do it?  Can I borrow your shoes?

Tomorrow is New Year’s Eve-we three mamas, our husbands and kids are getting together for an early evening celebration then home to put our kids to bed.  It’s not glamorous but it sounds lovely to me-Gina and Brian are making prime rib, Carin and Brian are bringing yummy cheesy bacony potatoes, and I’m bringing a chocolate mousse that is naughty.  Whatever your celebration entails, be safe as you welcome in 2012.  It will be a great year, have no doubt!

 

Happy New Year!

3 thoughts on “Things On My Mind {12.30.11}

  1. June Schubert says:

    Sounds like a fun evening tomorrow, Melissa! Happy New Year! (And btw, I’m with you on the potty training underwear. Hmmm, I think it could go well with Darth Vader costumes and pink clogs–is my memory right on that 2010 Halloween?)

  2. sarah dass says:

    You can do this 5k! I am terrified! I haven’t even run 3 miles before! U can do this! Come do this first 5k with me and Gina!!! You can do it and we support each other!!!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

