What will I be?

Leave a comment

January 9, 2012 by Melissa

This stay at home mom thing was supposed to be temporary.  I had to quit my former job as a bookstore manager because my schedule couldn’t be as flexible as necessary with my husband’s travel schedule, and having a toddler and days only daycare.  We thought I’d find another job soon enough but then the economy kept nosediving.  We came to the decision a few months later that I’d just stay home until our next baby turned one-leaving behind that uber expensive first year in daycare.  Once we made that decision, I was fine with being home with our girls.  I’ve embraced it and look at it like a job-with goals and on the job training.  But now our baby girl is 3 months old and I’ve got 9 months or so to figure out what the heck I want to do with myself.  I’d like a whole new career path but what?  Part time or full time?  Maybe I’m getting too far ahead of myself and assuming there will be jobs to be had that will pay enough to cover daycare/preschool.

It’s a scary thought-getting back out there in some capacity.  .  I’m comfortable now but know that for us to pay for preschool and vacations, I need to get to work.  I love working, don’t get me wrong, it’s just a little terrifying to think of all this changing and me having to answer to someone again, get reviewed again.  But I’ll get paid, and have structure, and, hopefully, a lot more adult contact.

Who will I be?  We define ourselves first and foremost in this country by what we do.  That’s the first question asked when you meet someone new: what do you do?  How can I put all this into a few words?  “I do enough to pay the bills then go home to my girls and my husband.”  I actually like that-maybe I’ll try using that.  After all, I think at the end of my life I won’t be wishing I had spent more time at work.

My dream is to one day become a dietician but I need a few science classes before being eligible for any masters program and there’s no financial aid for part-time studies.  That’ll just have to wait a while.  I do look forward to the possibility of being in school when my girls are in school and showing them what’s possible.  That I kept at something until I succeeded.  Until then I’m poring over Strengthsfinder 2.0 and Do What You Are and have my Knock ‘Em Dead Cover Lettersready to go.  Anyone know anyone that’s hiring?

Chris and the girls

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

