Things On My Mind {1.13.12}

Leave a comment

January 13, 2012 by Gina

I have alot of random thoughts on my mind this week.  Don’t we all?

First, I can not WAIT to get my hair cut and colored next week and more importantly, have my eyebrows waxed!  I feel like the unibrow is growing bigger every day (okay…it’s not quite that bad, but that’s how it feels).  I haven’t had my hair cut since October and it’s been more than 6 months since it was colored.  I’m ready to have a stylish, shorter new haircut that is super easy to do.  I love getting my hair done.  I have a few hours to myself and my stylist makes all the decisions.  I don’t care what she does as long as it looks good.  And it always looks nice so I don’t have to worry about it.

A funny note about getting my hair cut.  I drive 90 miles to get my hair done.  It started when Brian was deployed because the stylist is on the way to my parents’ house.  So, my parents meet me at the salon, we switch cars and they take the kids while I get my hair done.  Then I stay at my parents’ for a few days.  It’s a great arrangement and my stylist, Sheila, has been doing my hair on and off for 25 years.  But, that isn’t the funny part. The funny part is that Brian never even notices that I get my hair cut and colored after I’ve been gone for 3-4 days and come home with a completely different look.  It cracks me up!  Co-workers I see once a week notice but not my husband.  I don’t care that he doesn’t notice – it just is not important to him.  I’m sure there are things he does that I don’t notice because I don’t care.  That’s just life.  Anyway, it’s still funny to me!

In other news…Getty is FINALLY sleeping better (knock on wood here)!  He’ll be 7 months old on Sunday and this week he only woke up 1-2 times each night.  I took him (and myself) to a chiropractor last Sunday so maybe that has something to do with it.  Our chiropractor said Getty was very tight on the right side and at the base of his spine.  So, we’ve got another appointment next week and hopefully he continues to get some needed rest at night.

I signed up for the same race that Carin is doing in March (thanks for the inspiration and suggestion Carin!).  I’m doing the 5K, instead of the 10 miler but it’s a start.  I’m really excited about it.  I haven’t run a race in over 2 years and I was pushing 6 month old Finn in the stroller during the last race.  Needless to say, my time wasn’t so great on that one but at least I did it.  I’ve only run four times in the new year so I’ll have to up my mileage and frequency to have a decent time in 8 weeks.  I know I can just run the race and have fun, but I’d like to run about a 7:30 mile average.  I think that might be a bit ambitious since I really haven’t been running much in the last year.  But… a girl needs to have some goals!

Speaking of goals…I’ve got some of my own for the new year.  You’ll have to wait until Wednesday to find out what they are.  Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

