Craft Project {Valentine’s Day Crayon Hearts}

3

January 19, 2012 by Carin

Last week I received my weekly Martha Stewart email that contained Valentine’s Day decorating inspirations and crafts.  I quickly looked at it and ended up pinning the Crayon Hearts to my Pinterest craft Board.  Looked easy enough, just needed some old crayons and wax paper.  Easy peasy!

 While Grace was napping (Myles took a shorty today), I went through her crayons to find some older ones and started putting them through a small pencil sharpener to create crayon shavings.  I also tried a microplane and cheese grate, no go, bad idea!  When she woke up I told her we were going to make hearts and she was excited.  She watched me shave the crayons and then entertained her brother for a bit while I finished that up.  Then it was her turn to spread the shavings around on the wax paper and then I ironed them to melt the shavings.  We made a few sheets for cutting out.  I made three paper heart templates to trace and I let Grace pick the sizes and where on the wax paper they should be traced.  Then she decided I needed to trace her hands, so we have hearts and hands!  After all our hearts and hands were cut out, she helped me pick where to punch the holes and then punch them.  Some fishing line and then tying them up and the project was complete.  One hour later, we had a Valentines’ Day decorations that Grace and I made together.  She loves looking at the hearts and especially her hands hanging up. 

I hung them from a stick suspended from our ceiling in our basement.  It might become a revolving piece of art as the seasons and holidays change.  Over Christmas I took some wooden letter, painted them silver and hung the word “Merry” from the stick.   We could hang some shamrocks for St. Patrick’s Day, Easter eggs or bunnies for Easter, a flower something or other for the spring season.   A fun way to display our seasonal projects and it gives Grace something to show as people as they come over.

Grace's pretty little hand

 
What kids crafts do you have lined up this month?
3 thoughts on “Craft Project {Valentine’s Day Crayon Hearts}

  1. Gina says:

    Okay – we did this craft today and our hearts are now on our sliding glass door. True to form, Finn’s scissors turned into a mouth with “very sharp teeth”! He is just not a crafter!

  2. anne says:

    Ryan and I made these yesterday- they totally sucked! The pencil sharpener I had was too small to fit the crayons, so I chopped the crayons with a knife which left me with much too large of crayon pieces. They didn’t melt well, the waxed paper separated from the dried crayon, and there are crayon crumbles EVERYWHERE. Glad yours turned out nicely!

    • Carin says:

      Anne, sorry to hear that they didn’t work out. Getting the shavings is a pain the ass, but does make it work better. I did tried grating the crayons with a cheese grater and I had crayon pieces all over the kitchen for days.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

