I am not the crazy cat lady – but I love my cat!

Leave a comment

February 1, 2012 by Gina

Playful Flint in a scarf from Afghanistan

I love my cat – he’s cute, furry and he’s definitely mine.  I’m his person and he’s my cat.  I’ve had Flint for almost 8 years and got him as an 8 week old kitten. He was just 2 pounds and a little fuzz ball.  Flint is a male cat – he’s half Bengal and half Manx (the kind of cats without tails but he has a tail).  Bengal cats are known for their beautiful spotted or striped coats, for their loyalty, their voices and liking water.  Flint fits his Bengal roots perfectly.  He’s very vocal and will “talk” to you whenever you want.  He often announces himself loudly in the middle of the night or early morning which isn’t so great.   When I take a bath or shower, he sits on the edge of the tub the entire time.

I had planned to have Flint sleep anywhere other than in bed with me, but of course, that lasted all of about 5 minutes.  He’s been sleeping with me or on me ever since.  He meets me at the door every day when I come home and has since the day I brought him home.  As a kitten, he wanted to be held constantly!  I would even hold him as I put my makeup on in the mornings, draped over my shoulder and behind my neck.

Flint with one of his many rodent kills (this one a chipmunk before it met its end)

Brian tolerates Flint and I often hear “stupid cat” come out of his mouth, although he secretly loves that cat.  Finn loves Flint but the feeling is not reciprocated.  Perhaps because Flint is chased, yelled at and poked by Finn (I know – I had no idea I’d have a son named “Finn” when I named the cat “Flint” – confusing!).  Getty just really started noticing Flint and loves to watch him walk around or feel his fur.

Flint is more than just a cat or a pet to me – he’s been my constant companion for the last eight years.  He’s always been there for me when I need something to hold or laugh at.  He knows when I’m upset or not feeling well and rubs himself against me to show his affection.  He is a member of my growing family and I couldn’t imagine my crazy household without him!

Do you have a special pet in your life or have had one in the past?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

