Work, work, work (and a bit of play)…

Leave a comment

February 3, 2012 by Gina

Our crazy household - notice EVERYONE (including the cat) is on the dining room table!

I’ve been working a lot more than I usually do.  In the past two weeks, I’ll have worked about 60 hours and I normally work 16-26 hours in two weeks.  I enjoy working part time and being able to spend most of my time with my family, especially my two little boys.   Finn and Getty have been going to daycare on Mondays as usual and Brian has been home the other days to take care of them.  It’s so good for them to have some daddy time and I know they are loved and cared for as much as I love them.

I’m so fortunate – Brian has had terrific meals every night when I’ve come home from work.  We’ve had tater tot hotdish (that’s a casserole for all you non-Minnesotans!), meatloaf, chicken, twice-baked potatoes and more!  Brian’s meatloaf is so much better than mine.  He’ll have to take over meatloaf-making duties in the future.  The house has been clean, laundry done, the boys clean and happy.

While it’s fun to walk into the house and hear “Mommy!” these past two weeks, it’s also made me realize how much I enjoy staying home with Finn and Getty.  It’s the little moments that make these days so worthwhile.  For example, I was breastfeeding Getty the other morning before leaving for work and the following scene unfolded in the next room.  Flint(our beloved cat) was minding his own business, hanging out on his cat perch in the dining room when Finn runs over to him.  This is a very common occurrence in our house, but this time, Finn was not running over there to bug the hell out of Flint.  He ran over to him, pulled up his pajama top and said to Flint, “I’m a tiger mom and you’re my tiger baby.  Would you like some milk from mine tiger boo-boos?”

Rub-a-dub-dub, Finn and Getty in the tub!

You just can’t get any better than that!  The boys take baths together almost every night now, Getty is amazed by his big brother and Finn loves to talk to Getty and show him how to do things.   Getty has started to smack in lips together and he is very happy everytime he makes that fun sound.  We’re trying to condition him to do it when we say, “Getty, what does a fish say?”.  Then people will think he’s a genius!  It’s really adorable and he is developing such a fun personality.  Years ago, I never imagined myself as a mother, especially a stay-at-home mom.  Now, I can’t imagine missing these daily moments with my boys (including Brian!).

Don’t get me wrong, it’s not all rainbows and sunshine!  But life is really made up of these small moments and I know they make a difference in my sons’ lives.  They definitely are making a difference in mine!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

