Gluten Free Scones {YUM!}

Leave a comment

February 29, 2012 by Gina

I’m always looking for good gluten free recipes for baked goods and I like to try new and different gluten free flours.  I recently purchased Gluten Free Mama’salmond blend baking flour and their cookbook, “Gluten Free Mama’s Best Baking Recipes”.   I’ve tried many of the recipes in this book and they are all very tasty.  I usually use a four flour bean mix for my baking and the switch to Gluten Free Mama’s almond blend has made my recipes sweeter and lighter in texture.

Ingredients mixed in the bowl

Last week, Melissa (and the kids) and Carin (and the kids) came over for a morning playdate so I decided to whip up a batch of Gluten Free Mama’s cranberry scones.  Melissa and Carin don’t have to be gluten free but they are a good excuse for me to bake and they always eat what I make!  These scones are not as dense as non-GF scones, but they are good and have a nice texture that doesn’t taste gluten free (you know what I mean if you’ve had some GF recipes that aren’t so good!).

Here’s the recipe:

1 1/4 cups GFM’s Rice Almond Blend Flour

1/3 cup sugar

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. xanthan gum

1/2 tsp. salt

2 tsp. orange zest (fresh or dried) – I just grated the zest of one orange and it was enough

3/4 cup heavy cream (I’ve also used 1/2 and 1/2 and it has turned out fine)

1/2 cup dried cranberries

2-3 Tbsp. cream for basting

2 Tsbp. sugar for sprinkling (I use a coarser sugar like demerara sugar)

My 8" circle of scones ready to be baked!

Preheat oven to 375.  Mix flour, sugar, baking powder, xanthan gum, salt and orange zest in a bowl until well combined.  Add cream and mix on lowest speed until just combined.  Fold in dried cranberries by hand.

Remove dough from the bowl and press the dough with  your hands into an 8 inch circle directly onto an ungreased cookie sheet.  Dough should be a half inch thick or more.  After dough is shaped into a circle, cut into 6-8 wedges and separate slightly.  Baste with remaining cream and sprinkle lightly with sugar.

Bake in preheated oven for 20-22 minutes or until tops are golden brown.  Cut apart and enjoy with a cup of tea or milk!!

Baked and already eaten a few of them - YUM!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

