Running on empty…

5

March 7, 2012 by Gina

I am emotionally and mentally exhausted.  I had plans to run today (Tuesday) – it was about 55 degrees and a beautiful sunny day here in Minnesota.  As you may recall, I’m running my first race (a 5k) in about 2.5 years.  Ten months ago when I signed up for the race, I had goals and visions of running a great race, with a great time and having fun with friends.  Now, a few days away, I’m still looking forward to it, but it will just be a three mile run with some friends.  I have no illusions of a good time or getting back that running form I used to have.  I crammed a bit for the race this week.  After being sick for about 4 weeks and not able to do much physically, I ran on Friday and Sunday.  I planned to run today and Thursday.  Maybe Thursday will bode better.

I just didn’t fit a run in today between conferences for our 8 month old, Getty, at his daycare, gymnastics for Finn, running to Kmart for pullups for Finn (he decided that today he no longer wanted to wear diapers and preferred underwear), and an afternoon playdate with Carin and Melissa.

Additionally, we’ve had a long few days with Finn.  He has had major meltdowns and tantrums that have lasted for 45-60 minutes almost everyday for about a week.  It’s difficult to handle and both Brian and I are at our wits end.  We aren’t sure if he’s trying to adjust to a new classroom and teachers at daycare, if he doesn’t feel well, if there is something wrong with him or if this is normal behavior.  Regardless, we’ll keep looking into it and dealing with Finn’s emotions – it is difficult for him too.

In the meantime, I hope to be able to get back to some type of regular running as the weather gets warmer.  It will be good for my mental and physical health and help me handle some of these rougher days.  Now, if I could just fit it in to a busy schedule and really make the time for it.  Sometimes…like today, it just doesn’t get done and seems like another task I need to check off the list.  I’ll let you know how my race goes on Saturday – happy running and good luck parenting folks!

5 thoughts on “Running on empty…

  1. Sarai says:

    Let me know if you ever want me to watch the boys so you can get out running.

  2. Erin says:

    Good luck, Gina! Right about when William was turning 3 I was having a really hard time with him and tantrums. It lasted about a month, but did pass. I think he had so much change going on and was overwhelmed. You are great parents!!! We are so glad Finn is in the preschool room:)

  3. Sarah Dass says:

    I so hear you! Logan has been the same, huge tantrums and emotions up and down! we have started calling him our little bipolar baby! LOL I think they are growing! I am always here!!!!

  4. Marie Louise Cooper says:

    Hang in there! Sienna is going through major meltdowns as well. Some days are better than others. I think their minds are developing and they are becoming more aware of things. Plus all these darn emotions that are so hard to deal with, especially for a 2 1/2 year old.
    Big hugs! ML & co.

  5. Gina says:

    Thank you everyone for your support and stories of similar behavior with your toddlers! It really does help and makes me feel less alone and that, hopefully, this is a phase. One day at a time! Thank you again and keep reading.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

