Update on a few things…

2

March 14, 2012 by Gina

It’s almost the middle of March – how did that happen?  So, it’s been two months since I wrote my goals for 2012.  I thought it might be time for an update.

1.  Okay – this goal wasn’t on my list for 2012 but I signed up for my first race in 2.5 years and was supposed to run it this last Saturday, March 10th.  I was really excited about doing it (although you wouldn’t know that from my lack of training).  Unfortunately, I was unable to run the race.  Friday night I was running an almost 102 degree fever and things looked worse in the morning when I woke up with a raging sore throat.  I “ran” to urgent care instead.  Although my strep test came back negative, the doctor put me on antibiotics for tonsillitis.  I cancelled all my plans for the weekend, including my open house for Daisy Blue, work on Sunday and friends coming over for dinner on Sunday after work.  Thankfully, I did cancel everything because the clinic called on Sunday morning and said my strep test came back positive after 24 hours.  Not only that, Brian went to urgent care Saturday and also had strep throat and Getty made a trip to the doctor on Sunday and received a diagnosis of his third ear infection!! So, the only family members not at the doctor this weekend were Finn and Flint (the cat).  We’re all on the mend now, thanks to rest and our antibiotics.  Let’s hope my next race (yet to be determined) doesn’t end in a similar way!

2.  No New Clothing:  This has been a surprisingly easy goal for me to keep.  I didn’t think it would be, but it’s been two months and I haven’t purchased any new clothing.  I did buy some new socks for myself at Kmart last week (socks are an exception to the rule) and I really needed them.   Abstaining from buying any new clothes in the past two months made buying new socks a really satisfying experience!  Who knew socks could be so exciting!  I did receive some “new” clothes through a clothing swap and my friend, Michelle, also bought me some really cute tops she found at a thrift store.

3.  Use Coupons:  I’ve been using coupons and websites like Pocket Your Dollars regularly since January and have saved a minimum of 25% on every shopping trip.  Unfortunately, I have not yet sat down to track our grocery expenditure and come up with a hard-core budget yet.  I’ll get cracking on that soon.

4.  Use up our current overstock of hygiene items:  Okay, I’ve cheated on this one a bit.  I had such an abundance of lotions, soaps and other personal items that I knew there was NO way I would use them up.  So, I took them back and got gift cards at the retail stores for them instead!  This really hit two goals – one, use up the overstock and two, reduce toxin/chemical use.  All of the products I returned contained sodium laurel sulfates, parabens, petrochemicals and other things I really want to steer clear of.  I used my gift cards at the retailers for other items we needed (or wanted) like nail files, a foot file/scraper thingy and groceries.  It felt SO good to get that crap out of my house – I cleaned and organized the linen closet afterward and felt so much lighter!

5.  Reduce Toxin/Chemical Use:  I’ve already hit on this a bit and now only buying products that have few ingredients and things I can pronounce.  We are continuing to eat organic fruit and veggies when we can through my food co-op and just be more mindfull of what we are putting on our bodies as well as into our bodies.

6.  Other:  We are eating vegetarian once a week.  Brian’s not thrilled about this one and even Finn said, “Mom, what’s that?” when I was cutting up tofu for our stir-fry.  I told him it was tofu and he replied, “Do we put it on our toes?”.  It was the cutest thing!  I told him we ate it but of course, he wouldn’t touch it with a ten-foot pole at dinner.  We are using our gDiapers more and more at home and Finn is now wearing underpants so that has significantly cut down on our diaper use!!  When we ran out of paper napkins and I put the cloth napkins out, Brian ran out to the store the next day and bought a month’s supply of paper napkins so I guess he’s not on board with that resolution!  We are recycling paper bags (like the ones you get at Target, etc) and this includes cereal bags, bread bags or any type of plastic that you can stick your finger through.  Target or Whole Foods have bins for these when you walk in the store.  We are still composting (much to my mother’s chagrin), recycling all plastic products (thank you Hennepin County!) and paper and other things the county accepts.

So, all in all, after only two months, I feel good about where we are at with our goals and resolutions to reduce in 2012!  How are you doing with your goals?  Are you also reducing?

2 thoughts on “Update on a few things…

  1. Carin says:

    Way to go Hippie!! You didn’t mention making your own butt wipes!

  2. June Schubert says:

    You are doing great! But I don’t understand why he’s so gung-ho on paper napkins? I love cloth napkins.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

