Heartbreak

2

March 19, 2012 by Melissa

My Lucy had her first taste of heartbreak this weekend. She wanted desperately to play with the only other kids at my husband’s grandma’s birthday party-two little boys a bit older than her. They were playing video games when we got there and Lucy saddled up next to the youngest one to try to make a friend. They ignored her. She got bored and came back to Chris and I and sang an adorable rendition of Happy Birthday to Grandma June, gave her a birthday card and a hug. By this time the boys were up and moving around so Lucy went back to them to play. She grabbed the youngest boy’s hand and he looked at her with the scorn only a child can muster, shook off her hand, and turned away. I wanted to smack him. Lucy was mystified at first, then the realization hit her that he didn’t want to play with her. She walked a few steps and then collapsed in a heap. My husband, my mother-in-law and I all had tears in our eyes. Lucy wanted her blanket so I walked out to get it, and tried to compose myself along the way.

Don’t get me wrong, I knew that this was going to happen eventually but to see her sweet face in the aftershock of that rejection broke my own heart. But I vowed to be strong for her-to hold her in her disappointment and let her be sad. I know that she’ll be rejected time and again by boys and girls alike. It happens to us all. It’s just hard to witness it and know you just have to be there to nurture her after it happens. Chris then took her outside to run, look at flowers, and forget the little boy who didn’t know he just hurt the sweetest kid on the planet. While they were having fun, guess who realized he did want to play with the one kid squealing with delight as she ran around with her dad? The little boy I was still spitting mad at. What happened next could teach us all…

She took his hand and let him run with her.

2 thoughts on “Heartbreak

  1. Sarah Dass says:

    That is so sweet. It’s hard to see those times when their heart breaks or they realize that things are different from what they know and want.

    • Melissa says:

      I know! I don’t know if I’m up for a lifetime of this…I suppose the joys will outweigh the sorrows 🙂 at least I hope they do.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

