Happenings

1

March 30, 2012 by Carin

Yea it’s the weekend!

Happenings going on around here:

 1. A few weeks ago when I was picking up my race packed for the Get Lucky 21K (half marathon), I registered for the Women Rock Marathon.  Crazy I know!  My 18 week training starts May 1st.  If you are feeling the racing spirit they are also offering a half marathon and a 10K.  Come on, you know you want to!! 

 I have some goals in mind, though I am not sharing yet.  But dear readers count yourself lucky because I plan on sharing some good training stories, race goals and whatever else come about during my 18 weeks of training. 

Need some motivation (click image for larger view)?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2.If you don’t live inMinnesota, then you probably are aware that the weather has been crazy warm.  It is the end of March and the trees are leafing, the crabapples are budding and the magnolias are in the middle of blooming.  It is very odd for it to be this warm, but also super awesome.  Just makes me wondering what the rest of the spring/summer will be like.  How is spring shaping up in your neck of the woods?

 Because it has been so warm this past month, we have been having a lot of fun outside.  Grace has been riding her “bike” (trike), Myles has been trying to like grass, but loving being outside in the sunshine.  My husband and I have been loving the warm weather for running and getting our yard work done two months early, yes I said it, yardwork is done and the gardens are cleared out.  Now if only the grass would stay green and stop growing, then summer would be perfect!

 

via

3. A few weeks ago (during the yard clean-up frenzy weekend) we put the kids in the Burley, hopped on our bikes and rode into downtownMinneapolis for dinner at Black Sheep Pizza.  We had a great beet salad and a super yummy meatball pizza for dinner.  On the way home we stopped at Yum Kitchen for dessert.  If you live in the area, I would highly recommend both restaurants.  You can’t go wrong at either place.  Been to any great restaurants with the kids lately?

During the ride I looked at my husband and “This is what I am looking forward to about summer.”  Last summer Myles was a baby, so going to dinner was doable, but biking there was not an option.  This summer going on a bike ride for ice cream, meals, the park and wherever else we want to go will be fun and that is what summer is all about. 

 

via

 4. May is birthday month is our house.  My husband, Grace, Myles and my mom all have birthdays in May.  We are planning throwing a birthday party for Grace and inviting her friends.  I have been perusing Pinterest the past week and found a bunch of really cute ideas revolving around an art party.  I have so many ideas, now it is a matter of paring them down into the “doable” vs. “just plain crazy”. 

For Myles we are leaning towards a family party with a few friends invited, but I am still looking forward to a doing some special decorations and invitations for our little man.  After all, he is 1 and we like to think that is wonderful milestone.  My husband on the other hand, now with two kid with May birthdays, he usually gets the shaft.  Though if I can get my ducks in a row, he might just get a special celebration. 

 

via

5. Last weekend, Brian and I had a double date with our good friends Brette and Jen.  I hadn’t seen Jen since my birthday in November, so I was really nice to get together sans kids and catch up.  We dined at Red Stag Supperclub in NE Minneapolis.  Great food and drinks with a new twist on some of the classics.  If you need a fun place to head to for dinner, I would go to Red Stag.  I don’t think you will be diappointed.

  via

 

Hope you  have a wonderful weekend!  The weather is suppose to be AWESOME.  Enjoy.

See you here next week!

One thought on “Happenings

  1. Gina says:

    I just read a report (okay…part of a report) from the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) that these extremes in weather are likely to occur more frequently. So, rather than having a really cold winter (like last year) or a very warm spring/summer once every 20 or so years, we can expect this every 2-3 years. These odd weather patterns are happening globally. I am, however, enjoying this warm spring!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

