Getting out of the rut

3

April 10, 2012 by Carin

It’s Tuesday which means Confession Tuesday.  Sorry to disappointment you, but I am all out of confessions, for now.  But on the bright side, I did break outo of my rut last Thursday after this post.  We have a booked checked out from the library that  has become a favorite of Graces.  We have read it at least once a day for the last month and it really is a cute book.  Check it out if you can find it, Always Lots of Heinies at the Zoo .  Because of this book, Grace has been asking to go to the zoo and see animals. So, I took the kids to Como Zoo and we had a really good time.  Grandma B and Auntie Brenda joined us to make the trip even more fun and memorable. The weather was sunny and cool and the kids were super excited to see some animals.

 Como Zoo is one of my favorite things to do that is totally free and worth the drive across the river.  Entrance into the zoo is free (a donation is encouraged), parking is free and all the exhibits are free.  What is better than that?  I love that the zoo is small and easy to walk through.  All the animals are in close proximity to one another thus making it easy for Grace to walk without having to hop into a stroller after a while because she is getting tired.  And being that is it still early spring, the zoo wasn’t very busy, so we could navigate the stroller and toddler without running into or annoying other visitors. 

 The bonus to our trip to the zoo was the walk through Marjorie McNeely Conservatory to check out the all the plant life.  The Sunken Garden with the Easter Display was a highlight with many blooming hydrangeas, tulips, hyacinth and lilies.  Both kids had a good time checking out the flowers and plant life.   Grace loved the North Garden because of the koi filled pond that she could easily lean over for a good look at the fish, which she loves.  

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On the drive home, my sister and I were talking about my post and how I wish I did more “adventurous” stuff with the kids.  I talked about how hard it sometimes feels to get out the house with two kids and how I just never know if it will go well or if a tantrum will ensue or one of the kids will just be outright crabby.  So at the end of our conversation I made a deal with myself to take the kids on one “adventurous” trip a week this spring/summer with whoever wants to join us. 

 My list so far includes:

Minnesota Zoo

Minnesota Landscape Arboretum

SEA LIFE MinnesotaAquarium at the Mall of America

Toddler Tuesday at the Mall of America (kids eat free at a variety of restaurants on Tuesdays)

Stone ArchBridge and Gold Medal Park

Wild Rumpus Bookstore

MinneapolisSculptureGarden

MinneahahaFalls

Trolley Ride betweenLakeCalhounandLakeHarriet

MinnesotaValleyNational Wildlife Refuge

That is my list so far.  I am sure I will discover more places to add to it.  I think we are going to have a really fun summer exploring some new and old places. 

 Any suggestion or must go-to places?

3 thoughts on “Getting out of the rut

  1. Carrie says:

    If you have someone to go with I would definitely recommend the Children’s Museum. If you look at their calendar they have Toddler Days where they don’t have school tours. You can also get free passes through the library. I generally was not brave enough to go with two kids by myself, but always had a blast if my sister or mom came with.

  2. Jody says:

    A friend recommends Choo Choo Bob’s in St. Paul. I’ve never been, but it’s on my list for Olen when he gets a little older.

  3. anne says:

    Carin- meant to comment on your other post but never did. I don’t think you should feel bad or guilty for not taking your kids to do stuff all the time. Kids are overscheduled, and I think they feel most secure and comfortable just enjoying time at home, with maybe an adventure (big or small!) now and then. You’re right- taking another adult along with you to do things makes it much easier. These outings are exhausting! I have different categories of outings in my own mind- the really “major” outings that I call high-maintenance, mid-level outings, and easy ones. Easiest are a walk to the mailbox or a trip to the closest park. Mid-level might be the nearby library or a playdate at someone’s house. The high-maintenance trips are basically all the rest- haha!! I’ve given up on the children’s museum- I hate that place. I should probably take Sam sometime though so he can experience it. I also hate the MOA for toddler tuesdays- so crowded! Anyway, hope you can find some fun stuff to do. Choo choo Bobs is a great place for a rainy or cold day (and it’s just doors down from Izzy’s ice cream.)

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

