Mmmm…Salted Caramel Pie

2

April 13, 2012 by Melissa

We’re big caramel fans at my house, especially my husband, Chris. So when I saw this recipe for Salted Caramel Pie in a Food and Wine issue and saw how incredibly easy it was, I had to try it. I made it for dessert at Easter Dinner at my parent’s house last weekend. It was incredible.

Salted Caramel Pie

Mine didn’t look like the magazine slice above, but who cares?

The recipe is:

1 1/4 cups graham cracker crumbs

4 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted

1/4 cup light brown sugar  (although I just used a store bought graham cracker crust)

Two 14 oz cans of sweetened condensed milk

Fleur de sel (I just used kosher salt)

2 cups heavy cream

2 Tbsp confectioners’ sugar

To make the crust, pulse the crackers with the butter and brown sugar in a food processor until combined and press into a 9-inch pie plate. Bake in a 350 oven for 10 minutes or so and then let cool.

Turn oven up to 425 and poor the milk into a 9×13 glass baking dish. Sprinkle with a 1/2 tsp of salt and cover with aluminum foil. Put the dish into a roasting pan and add enough water to the roasting pan to reach 1/3 of the way up the baking dish. Bake, stirring the milk 2-3 times, until it’s golden and thick, about 2 hours. Add more water to the roasting pan as you go, if you need. The caramel may be lumpy, don’t worry.

Scrape the caramel into the pie crust. Spray some Pam onto some plastic wrap and cover the pie. Refrigerate for at least 4 hours to set.

Beat heavy cream in a mixer with confectioners’ sugar until thick and firm. When ready to serve the pie, mound the whipped cream onto the caramel and sprinkle with more salt (or not, we didn’t and it was just as good).

 

I got requested by my husband to always have this on hand in the house. He liked it that much.

 

2 thoughts on “Mmmm…Salted Caramel Pie

  1. This looks fantastic. I made some salted caramel chocolate bourbon cupcakes before and really liked the salty-sweet combo. I am putting this on my “to-make” list.

  2. Melissa says:

    I will have to try that cupcake recipe! I’m going to try a salted caramel ice cream, too, in the near future…

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

