Friday Thoughts…

Leave a comment

April 27, 2012 by Gina

TGIF!!  Or not…until today I completely forgot that Brian was going to be out-of-town for the entire weekend, starting today.  He has his regular reserve weekend and normally he’s home at night during reserves.  But, this weekend, the unit is headed to Camp Ripley in northwest Minnesota to do their annual weapons qualification.  That means he’ll be gone all weekend without coming home at night.  It will be a long weekend without him around the house to help, but maybe it’s a good thing I didn’t remember until today.  We’re trying to fill up the days…walking this afternoon with a friend and her son, tending our MOMS Club community garden plot on Saturday and having a friend and her family over for dinner on Sunday (her partner is also out-of-town this weekend).

I also have a project that I started last night that will take up my time once the kids are in bed.  I’m really excited about it!  I’m painting my dining room table black.  It’s a hand-me-down table from my parents that I’ve had for about 7 years.  Since we’ve had our boys, the table is really getting worn.  We wash it so often that the finish is wearing off and it’s just looking sad.  So, I decided I’d repaint it.  I headed to Sherwin Williams last week and stocked up on tinted primer, black oil-based paint, a poly top coat, some brushes and sand paper.  I’m all ready to go!  I just hope it turns out.  If it does, I’ll have a “new” table for about $45!! You can’t beat that.  I was inspired to do this project when I was home for Easter and went to “The Golden Giraffe” in Alexandria, Minnesota.  It’s a terrific store filled with refurnished, painted furniture, mirrors, home accents and clothing.  There was a dining room table there that was painted black with 6 gray chairs.  Unfortunately, it was sold.  But I thought, “I should do that” and I’m doing it.  I’ll keep you posted and hopefully have some pictures next week.

I also was going to buy, paint and re-upholster some dining room chairs.  I didn’t ever take my parents’ chairs that went with the table because I didn’t like them and the chairs I have now go with another table I have from England.  I was looking on Craig’s List (which I rarely do) and found four BEAUTIFUL black chairs with the perfect upholstery for $140!  I snatched them up with the kids in tow and now I just need to Scotchguard them.

OOH…I love a good project.  I haven’t done anything like this in a long time!  I was at the thrift store today and found an adorable dresser for $50 that would look fabulous repainted but I really don’t need another dresser and have nowhere to put it.  Plus…one project at a time.  I did find some great kids’ books – you can never have enough books and these were a steal!

So that’s my weekend – I hope I can get everything done.  If my boys nap I might even get more done.  Dare to dream, Gina…dare to dream!

Have a great weekend, thanks for reading and see you on Monday!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

