Mother’s Day is Coming Up!

Leave a comment

April 30, 2012 by Melissa

Mother’s Day is just under 2 weeks away and I’d like to share some great gift ideas that aren’t your run-of-the-mill flowers or brunch (although those are nice, too). My point here is to spend some time thinking of the woman you’re celebrating that day, whether it be your mom, your wife, your sister or your friend, and not do something last minute and hurried.

This first idea may seem odd but, trust me, she’ll flip for it: a night by herself in a hotel room. My husband did this for me when our first daughter was about 8 or 9 months old and I had yet to have a solid night’s sleep. He made sure it was a nice and clean hotel-he dropped me off that night, and picked me up the next morning after I called to say I was ready. He didn’t call me for anything-he let me have some space to myself and some good sleep. It was heaven.

My second idea is to get her a gift certificate to a salon so that she and her best friend can get manicures and pedicures together. Time with your girlfriends is so precious when you have kids and it’s nice to have a block of time that’s fun and relaxing (and free to her).

Third, while not so original, implementation is key to this idea. Make her a lovely meal, complete with drinks and dessert, and then CLEAN UP AFTER.

Fourth, make a video or videos of your kids telling your wife that they love her. Do some extra work and put some music to it. Video yourself saying that you love her and thank her for all she does.

Fifth, buy her a pretty dress, put on a fedora (Don Draper style) and take her out for drinks and dinner.

Sixth, buy a collage frame and put some pics of your family along with some quotes about family. My husband did this for me and I love it. It wasn’t expensive but he spent time finding just the right quotes and just the right photos to display.

Seventh, plant a pretty window box for her. Then mount it underneath whatever window she wants it under, THAT DAY.

Eighth, buy tickets to a show, or a concert that she’s wanted to see. Call a babysitter and have it all set.

Ninth, check out her Pinterest board (with her permission, of course) and find something she’s been coveting.

Tenth, you can always do the gift card thing but try to go outside the box on this one-one that she would love. Get her one to Sephora (if she loves makeup and the like), DSW Shoes, City Lights Books (if she’s a bibliophile), Anthropologie (for feminine, funky clothes), Patina (for a variety of great gifts), Uncommon Goods (has great jewelry and home stuff), The Container Store (if she loves organizing, like I do), Birchbox (sends great monthly makeup and beauty samples for $10/month) or ThinkGeek (for the nerds).

Make her feel special and make sure she knew you thought about her. Let me know how it goes and what you give to the special mom in your life!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

