Confession Tuesday {5.8.12}

1

May 8, 2012 by Gina

How is it possibly my turn to confess something again?  I seriously need to start being or doing more “bad” things in order to have some confessions ready to go.  Maybe I should have thought about that 20 years ago when I was younger and didn’t have anyone who relied on me.  Oh well…I guess I’ve been too “goody too shoes” so this confession will have to do!  Are you ready…

This is actually something that is a bit hard to admit.  I mean – I have a college degree, am well-travelled, cultured, speak a few languages…yet, I really like reality television.  I have watched alot of reality tv over the years – Survivor, Amazing Race, Biggest Loser, Project Runway, Top Chef, Hoarders…even…the Bachelor and the Bachelor Pad!

It all started in early 2001 when I was still living in Germany and my mom told me I HAD to watch this new show called Survivor on CBS.  My distant cousin (who I have never met) Jerri Manthey, was going to be on this reality show called Survivor Outback.  I had never heard of it before that conversation with my mom and it was only the second season of Survivor.  The television in my German apartment only received about four German channels and Survivor was not on it.  However, my upstairs neighbors (also in the military) paid to have the Armed Forces Network (AFN) on their tv.  So, my now ex-husband and I trooped up to our friends’ apartment every Friday night (the show came on a day later on AFN) and diligently watched Survivor Outback.  We LOVED Jerri, Tina, Colby and Elizabeth and all the different games they played.

I had no idea I’d still be watching this show 11 years later and that reality television would become such a hit.  One thing I like about these shows is that I don’t have to watch every single week.  I can miss a week or two and not really have missed much.  They are also an interesting experiment in social behavior, particularly Survivor.  I mean, let’s face it – the producers aren’t actually going to let them be in such a horrible survival situation where their lives are in danger (although I know it takes a physical toll for sure).

I haven’t watched “The Real Housewives” or the Kardasians or Jersey Shore but I have watched wierd reality shows on TLC like “My Big Fat Gypsy Wedding” or “Toddlers and Tiaras”.  Some of these shows are down right crazy!  But, they are also entertaining and I don’t have to think about my own world for those 45 minutes.  It gives me a brief (although at times, disturbing) break from my own reality and sometimes that’s just what I need.

What television shows do you watch that you don’t admit to?

One thought on “Confession Tuesday {5.8.12}

  1. Jasmin says:

    hehe, I like your tv show confessions. I have A LOT! But, I don’t really care what people think, because like you said, they are entertaining and you forget about your own troubles… I guess mine would be Glee 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

