Oh, Pinterest, You Beautiful Time Suck

2

May 14, 2012 by Melissa

Happy Monday! Hope everyone had a lovely Mother’s Day weekend being celebrated or celebrating those moms, soon-to-be-moms, as-good-as-moms in your lives. I had a great time with my girls and my hubby and celebrating my friends, sisters-in-law, mom, grandma, mother-in-law. It’s wonderful to have an excuse to be grateful and show thanks.

I had a Pinterest sort of week last week-there were just several things on there that I got excited to try out, make, or plan. On top of that, my husband was gone for most of the week for work so I had all the middle of the night sessions with the baby to spend some quality time on Pinterest. Some weeks are like that, right? Thank goodness for smartphones and great websites.

First I tried a recipe for a wild rice casserole from http://www.picky-palate.com. I was excited for this one as I recently discovered that Target carries a wild rice pack that was microwaveable. The recipe was pretty good…as most casserole recipes are. It did have a lot of fresh veggies in it and a homemade cheese sauce so you really could experiment with the recipe to find something to really fit your family.

Wild Rice Casserole

Second on my list was a recipe for lemon monkey bread from bakerlady.wordpress.com and, oh my god, was it good. I have fond memories of monkey break (we called it bubble bread in our house) from the late 70s and early 80s, and I’m a sucker for lemon desserts, if they’re really lemony, and this one fit the bill, with only one lemon. I’ll definitely be making this again.

Yummy yummy lemon monkey bread

Then I ordered a necklace for my sweet mom for Mother’s Day that I saw on someone’s board. I ordered the necklace from the artist through Etsy on a Friday and it came in the mail on Tuesday and it’s so sweet, I want one for myself with my two girls’ names on it. Highly recommend.

Mother’s Necklace

Finally I found a few great ideas for my baby girl Alice’s room. She’s going on 8 months and I never really did get her room decorated with any sort of theme, poor girl. I did, however, get a decal of a cherry blossom over her changing table that she loves to look at so I’ve recently decided to run with that. The craft I did last month of the sticks and tissue paper ended up in her room and looks great in there. Last week I discovered a cherry blossom mobile to make:

 

That’s right, I’m making this…

I also found a wonderful way to use buttons (I have a big mason jar full of buttons…is that weird?). It’s this framed letter with colorful buttons:

 

Too cute button craft

That will be so cute in her room! I’ll get all this done and take pictures to show. I’d like to think I can get her room in some sort of order before her first birthday…

I know Pinterest can be an enormous time suck but it really can be great to get ideas or get inspired…are you following me?

 

2 thoughts on “Oh, Pinterest, You Beautiful Time Suck

  1. June Schubert says:

    Ooh, I like the button idea and I like the lemon monkey bread thing. Too bad you didn’t do a link thingie to the monkey bread recipe. I’m making lots of lemon stuff (life motto–I’m not just making lemonade with the lemons I’ve been given, I’m making lemon bars, lemon cake, lemon pie, and now Lemon Monkey Bread!) But I’m sure I’ll find it. And I like the idea of putting my buttons in a mason jar–cool. Although the button box they are in is cool also

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

