Confession Tuesday {5.15.12}

5

May 15, 2012 by Melissa

Here it is: I did not like The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo…

I know every other person on earth read the trilogy and loved it. I am the one curmudgeon that didn’t. I don’t normally offer up this information as I get looks from people like I’m a leper, or worse, that kind of book snob, which I’m not. I really don’t care what people read-every one has their reasons for reading what they do: to escape, to learn, to think, to laugh, to get hot and bothered…I don’t care. I just didn’t like this book. I apologize if I offend you but I have my reasons. You don’t have to try to get me to rethink the book or tell me what you loved in an attempt to change my mind. In fact, that might actually make me like it even less. I’m stubborn like that.

I did, however, like the original swedish version of the movie (I haven’t seen the Finch version)-I thought it made for great cinema and am looking forward to seeing the rest of the trilogy in movie form. I just won’t be reading the books.

There are lots of books that I really like that others don’t. I don’t take offense to that. Reading is a very personal endeavor and me saying I liked a book shouldn’t make you feel bad if you didn’t like it and vice versa.

Are there items in popular culture that you didn’t/don’t like? Have you fessed up?

5 thoughts on “Confession Tuesday {5.15.12}

  1. Gina says:

    I really liked the first book in the trilogy but the last one I didn’t enjoy much. I just kept thinking, “how much trouble can these two get into, really?!”. I love that about books – that one person can find such joy in a book and another person doesn’t like it at all. They are so personal!

  2. Erica says:

    I have a friend who didn’t like that book, and regardless of how much I read – I have yet to read the Dragon Tattoo series. The one that has me up in arms is 50 shades of grey. Everyone looooooves this book, but it’s crappy and horribly written (like Twilight for adults). Actually it is twilight for adults, because it started out as a Twilight fanfic story (and the original characters are Edward and Bella). It’s really a horribly written book though. /end random tangent, but yes I’ve been there.

  3. June Schubert says:

    Two words, Melissa, Edgar Mint! 3-4 years ago when we had the Christmas book drive another Edgar Mint lover bought 2 copies to donate. In my mind I was thinking “Why, why, why?” and my face was smiling and saying “Thank you!” I didn’t get it, but that’s ok! I did like dragon tattoo (after I got through the first incredibly boring 50 pages that dealt with business high finance!), but hadn’t expected to. And I think that made me like it even more. And the 50 shades of grey? yikes! I’m using my “I’ve only got so many books left in my life so I don’t want to waste any of those spots on something I have no desire (pun intended) to read” card. (Doesn’t stop me from telling customers how much people love them!)

  4. Tom K says:

    I don’t understand why people go gaga over the musician Prince.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

