Gym Membership…or not?

3

May 16, 2012 by Gina

I have about 10 million things to do tonight (one of them being writing this blog post).  I need to make a list of everything that should get done but it feels like it would be too long so I’m tackling the “must do’s” first and then I’ll get to the rest.  Brian left today for the entire week and we are heading to my parents’ tomorrow so that the week doesn’t seem so long.  This is just the beginning of some longer months for us when the Army has Brian for almost all of June and July.  But…he isn’t deployed and it’s better to have him a few hours away than half the world away.  Many of our friends are doing that with their spouses.

Anyway…I digress, as usual!  What I really want to talk about is working out!  I haven’t been working out, running or otherwise doing much to stay in shape lately.  I’m anything but an authority on the subject at the moment.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m still in decent shape at 98 pounds and 4’11” tall.  But that’s just from chasing after my two children every day and lifting them all the tme – hardly an organized training regimen.

Before having children (and even somewhat after having Finnegan three years ago) I was religious about working out.  I ran 4-6 days a week, did weight training at least 3 times a week and practiced yoga regularly.  I was big as a house, pregnant with Finn and still trying to get into Eagle Pose (boy I hate that one!).  So, the other day a friend of mine invited me to go to the YMCA with her and do a Bodypump class taught by another friend of ours.  I went, knowing full well I would be sore and miserable the next day but was looking forward to doing something for myself.  It was a great class!  The boys had fun in the YMCA-provided childcare and yes, I was sore for two days.

I’m seriously considering joining a gym again, maybe even the YMCA.  I gave up my gym membership about 8 years ago in lieu of my own treadmill, workout ball, yoga mat and an entire set of free weights.  I used them all regularly, until I had my children.  I loved not going to the gym and just working out at home.  Now, however, I find that running at home on my treadmill is an exercise in futility – the boys rarely nap at the same time and it’s hard to hop on there uninterrupted.  My boys are early risers so I’m not getting up at 5 am to run – just not going to happen.

So, that’s why the gym membership again.  I’m just on the fence about it.  I want to have some dedicated time to myself to work out and know that unless I commit, it’s not going to happen.  Is it worth a gym membership monthly fee?  Will I use it?  I would love the classes and would happily hop on the treadmill at the gym while my kids played in the childcare area.  I think it might be worth it, even if I went twice a week.  That would be eight times more a month than I’m doing anything now!  So, what do you think?  Do you have a gym membership?  Do you use it?  When do you find the time to work out as a busy mom or dad?

Back to my list…have a great week!  I did pack my running clothes and maybe I’ll get a run or two in at my parents’ house!

3 thoughts on “Gym Membership…or not?

  1. Jody says:

    Gina, I go the Y and LOVE it. I mostly go to classes (Zumba, BodyFlow, BodyStep), but occasionally hit the elliptical. What I like about the classes is a) they aren’t the same routine every time (especially Zumba); b) it’s super motivating to be surrounded by people with the same goal as me (i.e., get some exercise); c) I’ve made some friends that I look forward to seeing each time; and d) it gets me out of the house and gives me a little break from parenting. Plus the Y is pretty affordable and you get a break on classes for kids, like swimming lessons. Not that Olen is swimming yet. 🙂

  2. Michelle M says:

    Gina, do it!! It is great to have time away from the kids and what better time for yourself then exercising and taking care of yourself! YHou are also teaching your kids that exercising is something us adults do. I do use it more when Nick is out of town for a break. I am having a hard time getting there at least 8 times a month since the weather has been so nice! I might suspend mine for the summer. We will see….

  3. Michelle M says:

    I heard Lifetime is the same price…from what my friend researched. And you get a steam room and towels provided 🙂 I do know that there is only 2/3 MOMS members at Lifetime and most have joined the Y.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

