A few updates…

Leave a comment

May 30, 2012 by Gina

I have a few updates on some previous posts and just some thoughts today as I write:

1.  I did decide to join the gym.  I joined the local Y-M-C-A (yes, I’m doing the hand motions and singing) last Monday night.  Since I’ve joined, I’ve been to the gym four times and feel like I am really making an effort to work out several workouts into the week.  My goal, although I’d like to do more, is to get to the gym at least twice a week.  Last week, I went three times and so far this week I’ve gone once.  I know if I stick to a realistic goal of twice a week it will be doable for me and anything above that will be terrific.  I’ve run on the treadmill, done the elliptical (HATE those machines although you feel the burn), done a BodyFlow class (yoga, tai-chi and pilates all together) and a Zumba Gold class (yes, it was for seniors but I figured I’m closer to 50 than 20 and I’ve never done Zumba before).  This morning, I’m planning to do a pilates class and tomorrow, get a good run in.  I’m happy so far that I joined and am really scheduling the workouts on my calendar so I stick to them.  It also helps that many of the MOMS club members are also Y members and we see each other there.  That is motivating and also holds us accountable – you can’t beat that combination.

2.  I made a TERRIFIC homemade asparagus soup from all the asparagus we got at Bielke’s farm when I was at my parents last week.  I found the recipe at allrecipes.com and it turned out great – very creamy and tangy!  Plus it was quick and easy:

Ingredients

  • 1 pound fresh asparagus
  • 3/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup vegetable broth (I used chicken broth)
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour (I used a gluten free flour mix to make this recipe GF)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 pinch ground black pepper
  • 1 1/4 cups vegetable broth (again, chicken broth is what I had)
  • 1 cup soy milk (I used regular milk)
  • 1/2 cup yogurt
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

            Directions

  1. Place asparagus and onion in a saucepan with 1/2 cup vegetable broth. Bring the broth to a boil, reduce heat and let simmer until the vegetables are tender.
  2. a few asparagus tips for garnish. Place remaining vegetable mixture in an electric blender and puree until smooth.
  3. Melt butter in the pan that was used for simmering the asparagus and onions. Stir while sprinkling flour, salt, and pepper into the butter. Do not let the flour brown. Allow the mixture to cook only 2 minutes. Stir in remaining 1 1/4 cups vegetable broth and increase the heat. Continue stirring until the mixture comes to a boil.
  4. Stir the vegetable puree and milk into the saucepan. Whisk yogurt into the mixture, followed by lemon juice. Stir until heated through, then ladle into bowls. Garnish with reserved asparagus tips. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese if desired

I’ll definitely be making this recipe again and Getty loved it.  Finn, of course, true to 3-year-old form, wouldn’t touch it with a ten-foot pole despite his constant conversation that he helped pick asparagus!

3.  I just finished reading E.L. James’ “50 Shades of Grey”.  There’s SO much hype for this book and the trilogy, that it’s just crazy.  EVERYONE seems to be reading, has read or is re-reading and talking about these books.  So, I read the first one and won’t be reading the next two books.  I found the writing so poor, cliche and the book was extremely predictable.  Plus, I just didn’t care about a 21ish female lead character who seemed to have little self confidence and an her 27-year-old first lover.  It just didn’t intrigue or interest me.  However, the one good thing I can say about the book is that it gets you thinking about sex and I guess that’s never a bad thing!

Those are my thoughts this mid-week!  Have a good rest of the week!

Leave a comment

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.