Summer Reading

3

June 4, 2012 by Melissa

Summer Reading List-2012

Did you know I love to read? My summer reading list is ambitious, as usual, considering I have about 15 minutes a day to read, but I like the variety I’ve come up with and am looking forward to working my way through the list. If you have any must reads that I need to add (and maybe make it a summer/fall list) please let me know. I’m always looking for great reads.

First are the biographies:

  1. Jenny Lawson’s Let’s Pretend This Never Happened is hilarious and smart. Even if you’re not a reader of her blog, read the book, especially if you like David Sedaris, Sarah Vowell or Jen Lancaster.
  2. I just started Tina Fey’s Bossypants and my expectations thus far have been met. She’s smart, doesn’t care about embarrassing herself, and is a great writer. Can’t wait to get deeper into this one.
  3. The new biography of Kurt Vonnegut by Charles J. Shields, And So It Goes. I’ve been on the waiting list at the library for this for months and now it’s here, awaiting my attention. I’ve heard wonderful things about this book devoted to, in my humble opinion, a great man and a wonderful writer.

Next are the fiction pieces:

  1. First in this category is Peter Carey’s newest, The Chemistry of Tears. Whatever Peter Carey writes, I jump in with both feet. He’s taken me on some wild rides but I love his writing and can’t wait to see where this one takes me-all I know is that there are robots and art restoration involved? Whatever, I trust him.
  2. Next will be Israeli author Etgan Keret’s book of short stories, Suddenly, A Knock on the Door. It’s apparently some off the wall stuff but I’ve heard great things and sometimes short stories are really what I need.
  3. Oh, George Eliot. I’m a big fan, but can I really say that when I’ve never read Middlemarch? Well, I’m determined to read it this summer. I’ve always wanted to and I can’t, for the life of me, figure out why it’s taken me this long.

Finally the odd bits:

  1. I’m really interested in all things food related, especially nutrition and I heard about the book American Way of Eating: Undercover at Walmart, Applebee’s, Farm Fields and the Dinner Table by Tracie McMillan and had to add it to my list. She’s a journalist who grew up, like many of us blue collar kids, eating a lot of processed foods. Here she trains her journalistic eye to the food industry in this country.
  2. The raw book Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed has received much positive reviews and, thus, many people on the waiting list at the library. The author went on an 1100 mile solo hike after she lost control of her life. This book is her fight back.
  3. Finally, a little cooking: Homemade Pantry: 101 Foods You Can Stop Buying and Start Making by Alana Chernila. I’m intrigued to try a few things. I’m not under the crazy impression that I’ll have time to do a whole lot out of the book but I look forward to the challenge. We’ll be making our own raspberry granola bars later this week…

So what’s on your list? Do you take the time to make one or do you just read what lands in your lap at any given moment?

3 thoughts on “Summer Reading

  1. June Schubert says:

    You are going for Wild even though it’s an Oprah book (her new book group, Oprah 2.0)?? Another book I just read was The Submission by Amy Waldman–a post 9-11 book about the memorial for the twin towers. Very interesting. Things are not black and white in that book.

  2. Melissa says:

    I had no idea that Oprah had picked it! Ah well, sometimes she finds some gems. I’ve heard of the Waldman book-looked intriguing. i’ll add it to my list at the library…

  3. […] winter reading list, like my summer reading list, is ambitious, to say the least. When will I learn? Ah, screw it. I like having a long […]

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

