Confession Tuesday {7.03.12}

2

July 3, 2012 by Carin

Everyone has “those” days when there are kids involved.  The good days usually outweigh the bad days by a lot, but there are always those days when you just want to lock yourself in a room and just let the kids take over the house, you are done.  Every once in a while, when I have a day like that, I have to admit I like my dog better than my kids.  I will always love my kids more and would sacrifice more for them than my dog, but some days he is tops on my list.  I mean really, he tends to listen well, doesn’t talk back, eats all his food without protest or prodding, doesn’t leave his toys all over the house, goes to sleep without a battle, is self-sufficient, cuddles during nap time and appreciates all his treats without asking for more. 

Now I have to admit we have a really great dog.  His name is Cater and he is a beagle terrier mix.  He is super friendly, fairly calm, takes pride in protecting his yard and family and will forever be our first “kid”.  Carter loves to cuddle and be nestled in among the blankets and he loves to be close to anyone who will pet or scratch him.  He is very lovable.  Not to say our kids aren’t lovable, but they are kids growing up and learning so much about themselves and their world that you can’t help but be overwhelmed as a parent with all of it.  The independence struggle, the not-yet-talking phase, the I want this and now I want that to throwing themselves on the ground tantrums takes a toll on a parents patience. 

That is where Cater comes into play.  He doesn’t really want anything from me or us except to be fed twice a day, let outside, be taken on a few runs and he lets us know when he wants some attention.  Carter loves us for whatever we can give him and he us.  Now I realize he isn’t a human which makes him a lot easier to deal with, but some dogs can be more complicated than a human.  But not our Carter, his is as simple as they come and we love him a lot for that.  

And when it is one of “those” days you just want someone in your life that is uncomplicated and easy to deal with.  That is why on “those” days I like my dog a lot more than I like my kids.

2 thoughts on “Confession Tuesday {7.03.12}

  1. Katie says:

    I just said this last weekend! You read my mind. I said that my dog was my favorite child. You explained it perfectly. It is so funny to me that I was just saying this though! Glad someone understands!

    • Carin says:

      Thanks for reading Katie and letting me know that I am not the only one. You never know how people are going take it when you say that sometimes you like your family pets better than your kids!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

