A Summer of Sports

Leave a comment

July 11, 2012 by Gina

I am so happy with all the sports on television right now!  You have no idea!  I think I watch more sports on television than my husband does.  This may even include all those hours of NFL football in the fall that he watches.  But, I watch  alot of football too so I may be leading in the sports watching category.

The French Open (tennis) just ended a few weeks ago and Wimbledon finished up on Sunday with Serena Williams from the U.S. winning her 5th Wimbledon title and Roger Federer from Switzerland winning his 7th Wimbledon title!!  The matches were fun to watch and kept me on the edge of my seat.  On top of all the tennis that’s been on television, the Tour de France started on July 1st and won’t end until the 22nd.  It’s on everyday on the NBC Sports channel and replays throughout the day so I can watch it at night after the boys go to bed.

Even better…this is an Olympic year!  I absolutely love that the summer and winter games alternate years now.  I can watch the Olympics every two years instead of watching both the summer and winter games in the same year every four years.  The 2012 London summer Olympics start on Friday, July 27th on NBC.  You can watch all the action during the games on NBC, NBC Sports, MSNBC, Bravo, CNBC and Telemundo (yes, I will even watch in Spanish if I have to).  Ooh, I can hardly wait.  If I seem to have fallen off the face of the earth from July 27th – August 12th, don’t worry.  I’m just glued to my television.  This is a regular occurence for me during an Olympic year and family members know they shouldn’t attempt to communicate with me during this time.

In preparation for the games, I’ve been watching the U.S. Olympic Trials on NBC and NBC Sports – swimming, gymnastics, water polo, track and field.  I would seriously watch grass grow if it was a sport.  I really should have an Olympic themed party but instead I’m just going to curl up on my couch downstairs with my cat and watch until the wee hours of the morning.  Although I little Finn and Getty’s television intake, I make an exception for sports and Jeopardy.

It will be a sports downer for me when the Olympics are over.  I’m sure I’ll find something to do and in the meantime, my house and children will be woefully neglected as I watch them.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

