Confession Tuesday {7.31.12}

4

July 31, 2012 by Gina

I’ve been eating like crap lately.  And I don’t mean the occasional bad-for-you-food.  I mean, all out, eat-whatever-you-want food for weeks.  I keep blaming it on the baby.  I’ll eat a big bowl of ice cream and say, “Oh, the baby wants the ice cream” or down half a bag of tortilla chips and say, “the baby was craving chips”.

This weekend at a get-together at my in-laws I ate an entire gluten-free peach pie that my mother-in-law made for me (she always makes a great gluten-free treat for me whenever we come).  Granted, I ate it over two days, but I still managed to eat the whole pie (okay – all except for one piece).  I also ate at least four cups of puppy chow (Chex cereal covered in chocolate, PB and powdered sugar), several homemade salted-peanut roll bars, ice cream, chips, guacamole and probably some other things I’m forgetting.  I did manage to squeeze in some broccoli salad so that’s good, right?  You know, the one with broccoli, raisins, BACON and lots of mayo?  Hey, at least it had some veggies in it!

I’ve gained a total of about 5 or 6 pounds during this third pregnancy and I’m halfway through.  I typically only gain 25-30 pounds during pregnancy but I do realize that the calories I eat should be healthy calories instead of empty calories.  I’m writing this as my wonderful husband is getting me a big bowl of rainbow sherbert that I just requested.  I’ve discovered that during pregnancy and nursing that I can get away with eating almost anything.  So, why not?  For a few brief months, I might as well live a little.  After all, I’m giving up wine!

4 thoughts on “Confession Tuesday {7.31.12}

  1. Ashley says:

    I feel the same way, Gina! I have been feeling so guilty lately for how poorly I’ve been eating! It makes me feel better that I am not the only one. Tonight I will enjoy some buffalo wings and a shake!

  2. Gina says:

    Enjoy those wings and a shake Ashley! And don’t feel guilty – you have plenty of time to eat healthy. Your baby is growing into a happy, healthy little one!

  3. Ashley says:

    It’s so funny because I was ready week 21 of my week-my-week baby book yesterday. It told me to not eat junk food at all! It said that if I was craving sugar to have a cherry tomato to curb it. I laughed out loud, because every woman knows that when we want chocolate, we wont be happy with a tomato…

  4. jazzytower says:

    Remember, the real fun start when you try to take off the weight. We tend to forget how much fun it was putting it on. lol.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

