Mama can’t draw!

Leave a comment

August 9, 2012 by Carin

The past few days have felt a little stressful.  Myles had a fever over the weekend that we attributed to his eye teeth deciding to make an appearance  4 months early.  But lo and behold he has Hand, Food and Mouth disease.  He is tired, crabby, agitated and I am guessing has some sores in his mouth and possibly a sore throat. He has been a mess.   One minute he is having a great time playing and the next he is a tear covered little boy wanting to be held by his Mom.

I can handle a crying child crying for no reason, but a little one crying because they are in pain is a heartbreaker for me.  The harder part of all this is that big sister Grace wants attention too.  She understands that Myles is sick, but doesn’t understand why we don’t just go to the doctor and get some medicine to make him all better.  While trying to comfort Myles, she insists on me helping with a toy, wants to sing a song or in general doesn’t want to do what she is asked.  I have always been good at multi-tasking, but when I have a crying child in my hands, that all goes out the window. I have found myself snapping more than usual at her and wishing her to play by herself while I try and comfort her brother.  I find it hard to do anything but comfort because I just want him to feel better.  She has been doing a fine job for a three year old so she does deserve a lot of credit and I give her many apologies for my shortness.

Well that was a long story of woe is me to get to the real point of this post; my lack of drawing skills. While Myles took a long nap today in his battle against the virus, Grace and I did some art. I thought she could use some mommy and Grace time to make up for my less than stellar mothering of her.  I pulled out the finger paints for her, but she soon decided that she didn’t like the goopiness (is that a word?) on her fingers.  So I pulled out some paper and crayons.  She wanted to draw animals!  Could there be anything more difficult to draw?  At first she asked me to draw some for her, but I asked her to try and do it herself to see what she could come up with.  She soon declared defeat and asked me again to help her.  I asked her what she wanted me to draw.  She chose a giraffe of all animals.  Sounds easy right?    I pulled out the laptop for some inspiration and this is what I came up with.

Is it a dinosaur? Good question!

Looking at it again, the first thing that popped into my head was a strange looking dinosaur and not a giraffe.  What do you think it looks like?  Definitely not something drawn my an adult, but more like something drawn by a third grader.

Next up was an elephant.  This was my first attempt without any inspiration.  Big mistake! I should have stuck with the approach I took with the giraffe.

Elephant you are not…

And here is my second attempt of a baby elephant that Grace chose.  It kinda reminds me of Mr. Snuffleupagus (with ears) from Sesame Street.

Mr. Snuffleupagus or baby elephant?

Yeah, my kids didn’t win in the artistic parent department.  I will keep plugging away at my artistic endeavors for my kid’s sake.   But otherwise, don’t be looking for any great works signed by Carin K. anytime soon!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

