A Blast From the Past

Leave a comment

August 15, 2012 by Gina

A few of us from our reunion (I’m on the far right)

A few weeks ago, I attended my 20 year high school reunion.  It’s hard to believe that it has been twenty years since I graduated from high school!  That seemed to be the sentiment of all of my classmates that attended (and those that couldn’t make it too).  I know many people don’t like reunions and I did, in fact, have to talk a few friends into going.  But I spent five years with these classmates (grades 8-12, we moved to Alexandria when I was in eighth grade) and I wanted to catch up with them.

My senior picture! A bit embarrassing but hey, it was cool then 🙂

So, of course, I prepped for the weekend.  I got my haircut and had a manicure (good excuse!), reviewed who was attending and tried my hardest to recall events, stories and memories from those times 20-25 years ago.  I have a HORRIBLE memory so that last part was difficult for me. Maybe it’s because I was involved in a lot of activities in school; gymnastics, track, band, choir for a few years, speech, national honor society, cheerleading and according to the yearbook from my senior year, FCA, physics club and a few others I can’t remember.  I must have just sat in on that photo since I didn’t like physics and don’t even remember a physics club!

It was a terrific evening!  We reminisced about our younger days – we thought we were SO cool.  All of us women all had HUGE hair and bangs in our day and we laughed about that and how our hair certainly looks better today!  My junior prom date reminded me that I asked him to prom in front of a crowd of people.  I don’t remember that at all!  How could I not remember that?  But I do remember my very late 80’s dress with large, poofy shoulders and skirt.

I do remember the friendships I formed in junior high and high school and the fun we had as teenagers.  I may not remember details but I do remember that many of my friends from 20-25 years ago are still friends today.  We may not see each other very often, but we know about each others’ lives, our kids, our families and we’d do anything we could to help if and when we needed to.  While we have all changed and grown older, we share the bond of high school and growing up together.  I’m looking forward to our next reunion in 5-10 years!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

