Confession Tuesday {8.21.12}

Leave a comment

August 21, 2012 by Gina

Ahhh…what to confess to this week?  I’m a fairly laid back person but I do have my hang-ups (don’t we all?).  Here are a few of my biggest issues/pet peeves:

1.  Tardiness – perhaps this is because I grew up in a house with two teachers as parents.  We were always on time or early for everything and never (or VERY rarely late).  This served me well in the Army since you always have to be on “Army” time which means at least five minutes early.  I don’t like it when you are meeting someone or schedule something and someone shows up 15 minutes late without any notification.  Drives me bonkers.  If we say, “Let’s meet at 9:30ish” then it doesn’t bother me, but if it’s a hard and fast time, I will be on time and wish others could be too.  This is hard to do with small children but most of the time, we get the job done.  We start getting out the door WAY earlier than I would normally have to with one child or no children.  It’s amazing how long it takes to get kids to go to the bathroom and put shoes on, let alone get in their car seat (I’m dreading winter with all the gear we’ll need to leave the house).  But we get it done and we are on time or early 95% of the time.

2.  Thank you notes – I think thank you notes are still required or at the very least, a nice gesture.  This is especially true if I send you a wedding gift or baby gift.  I don’t care if it takes six months for you to get that thank you note written.  At least I know you received the gift!  I prefer the old-fashioned handwritten thank you note but I’ll take an email as a substitution.  I don’t always write thank you notes myself but I do it as often as I can because I think it’s the right thing to do.  It takes just a bit of effort and really says a lot.  I’m definitely going to make my boys write thank you notes and we’ve already started this process.

3.  Clean up after yourself – this is more in my home than directed at other people’s’ homes.  I don’t care if your house is messy but I do care if mine is.  I want the majority of “stuff” to be back in its place when whoever used it is done using it.  My three-year old already has to put his toys and books away, he clears his plate and cup from the table after meals and even helps with other “chores”.  I think this is a great tool for kids to learn how to organize things and sets an example for them.  It doesn’t happen every time (just like everything) but it does happen most of the time.

4.  Papers, papers, papers – it seems like junk mail, crafts and other paper items find their way into cluttering my countertops and desktop.  In this age of digital everything, why do I have so much paper?!  Our recycle bin is always overflowing and I’m constantly battling a pile of papers that I don’t really need.  I’ve signed up for e-delivery, pay bills online and do as much as I can without paper but there seems to be no end to the pile!

What are your biggest pet peeves?  Sometimes it seems to be the small things that get to you, no matter how much you try to let them go.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

