Food Friday {09.07.12}

1

September 7, 2012 by Melissa

So now that summer is done in all but name, we’ll be writing about our favorite new recipes every Friday. The four I’m sharing today have made their way into a fairly regular rotation at our house and I got them all off the internet, mostly from other bloggers.

First of all, do you need a drink? The first recipe combines pear vodka, cranberry juice and pineapple juice into a lovely drink called a Frenchy and I found it here.

 

Now that you’ve got a nice feeling buzz, let’s cook! How do cheesy hashbrowns sound? Yeah, I thought so:

I found this recipe on a website called nancycreative.com but she got it originally from cooks.com. I’ve never made a thing from Cooks that wasn’t amazing. The recipe is a lot of frozen hashbrowns (thank you, convenience), butter, sour cream, cheese, cream of chicken soup, onion, and corn flakes (on top, for crunch). This recipe makes a huge pan so it’s great for a crowd or for a lazy weekend at home to keep plugging away at. It’s creamy and cheesy and delicious. So good. And it does NOT need ketchup.

 

This next recipe I tried a few weeks ago while my husband was away on business and really liked it (he doesn’t love mushrooms). It’s a mushroom-barley-leek bake and it kept me fed all week while he was gone. Another great crowd item and vegetarian to boot. I found the recipe on a blog from a woman who loves vegetarian cooking and using seasonal food. She’s got great stuff on her website to try out and she’s great at photographing her food to make it look even more enticing:

 

This lovely dish has barley, leeks, mushrooms, garlic, almonds, eggs, and Parmesan cheese in it. Creamy with crunch is a great combination in my book. Loved this dish. May even make it while my hubbie is home and have him try it out for himself.

Last, but not least, is a baked spaghetti recipe I found on Pinterest that is originally a Trisha Yearwood recipe from one of her books. A blogger tried it out and wrote about it here. This definitely feeds a crowd so you could make it and freeze half if you’re motivated. I didn’t put the black olives in as I didn’t have it on hand but I didn’t miss them. There’s beef, bacon, garlic and onion, diced tomatoes, Rotel tomatoes, chedder cheese, red pepper, spaghetti, cream of mushroom (trust me, it’s good on this) and, of course, Parmesan cheese.

 

It gets better as it sits in your fridge, too, so make it ahead of time and enjoy!

Notice these are all warm and cozy dishes for fall. Great time of year for a yummy casserole and stiff drink, I say. I hope you like these recipes as much as we do in our house! Have a great weekend 🙂

One thought on “Food Friday {09.07.12}

  1. Gina says:

    I haven’t made baked spaghetti in years and this one sounds delicious! I’m going to make it next week and modify it to be gluten free!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

