One More Day

Leave a comment

September 10, 2012 by Melissa

My sweet Lucy starts two day a week preschool tomorrow. She’s excited beyond words and I am sharing in that excitement with her. She’ll have some independence from me and some kids her age to befriend and have some adventures with and she’ll have other adults to teach her and guide her. I’ll be honest in that I am a little sad that I will no longer have Lucy all to myself and that she’s growing up faster than I can grasp. Everyone tells you that it goes way too fast but when a day can drag on, you don’t really realize it. Then one day you find yourself dropping your daughter off at preschool or kindergarten or junior high…or college. Sigh.

Another good side effect is that I’ll get some time to spend one-on-one with Alice, which is sorely lacking. While she can play great by herself, much more so than Lucy ever could, she does love it when I get down to play with her or read to her. And she’s such an eager learner. If I show her something, she pays such close attention and then will mimic, facial expressions and all. No matter how we all like to think we raise our kids the same, it can’t be true. Alice has to share me with her sister and Lucy never had to do that. They haven’t had, nor will have, the same experience growing up in this house.

So that’s what’s going on in our house today and this week. We’ve reached the end of our countdown calendar and have one more day to wait before school starts. One more day of Lucy all to myself…

Will all first days be this hard? Harder?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

