Confession Tuesday {9.11.12}

1

September 11, 2012 by Gina

This confession will come as no surprise to friends and family that know me well.  But…for those of you who don’t know me, this might be surprising (if not a bit of “too much information”).  I don’t like taking showers.  I like being clean and presentable and so I do it since it’s socially expected but I don’t like to take showers.  It takes up precious time, particularly afterward when I have to do my hair and makeup.  I also don’t really enjoy getting wet and since I’ve had children I usually take my showers at night which I enjoy even less than taking them in the morning.

It’s rare I take a shower in the morning because there just isn’t time but I’d rather take one in the morning.  When I do take a shower, I don’t even get alone time.  My cat usually sits between the shower curtain and keeps me company by “talking” to me or licking the shower walls.  I also usually have a visitor or two because someone has to go to the bathroom or my three-year old just wants to check on me.  “Mom, are you taking a shower?”, he asks as he pokes his head into the shower.

Don’t get me wrong, I also don’t like to be smelly or dirty and so I take a shower every other day.  The exception is if I work out, then I take one at some point in the day.  I’ve gone a good 5-7 days without taking a shower or bathing.  Don’t panic – I was in the Army at the time so I didn’t have a choice in the matter.  The shower after those 5-7 days felt great!  But it’s amazing what a wipe down and toothbrushing will do to make you feel clean when you can’t take a shower.  My husband says I’m a dirtball, but he’s gone 19 days without taking a shower (again…the Army).

There are some benefits to not taking a daily shower – my hair ALWAYS styles better the day after I take a shower when it’s slightly dirty.  My skin isn’t as dry or itchy (I have really sensitive skin) and I gain an extra 30-60 minutes in my day.  I honestly don’t see too many benefits (other than cleanliness) to a daily shower so I just do it when I need to or every other day, whichever comes first.

Any weird likes or dislikes you have?  Do you loath the shower as I do?

P.S. – I do LOVE a good soak in the tub so I take baths regularly.  I read my books and magazines over a glass of wine while I soak.

One thought on “Confession Tuesday {9.11.12}

  1. Megan says:

    I love this! I was just thinking this morning that showering took too much time. I still try to shower every day, but it doesn’t always happen!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

