Friday Food {10.12.12}

Leave a comment

October 12, 2012 by Gina

I’ve decided recently that my crock pot and I need to become more intimately acquainted!  So, this Friday I’m featuring a recipe using my crock pot.  I looked in some old cookbooks and crock pot books, family recipes and online.  Finally, after thorough research, I decided on crock pot barbecued chicken and cornbread casserole from “A Year of Slow Cooking”.

I looked around this blog quite a bit and the recipes look great, they are easy with ingredients I tend to have on hand and all of her recipes are gluten-free!  This is an amazing find and I have a feeling I’ll be returning to this blog for more and more ideas.  Despite being gluten-free for almost 11 years, I find I often get stuck in a rut and cook the same things over and over.  I think this also happens if you aren’t on a restricted diet.  The recipes cover everything from beverages, desserts, main meals using every kind of protein, light and healthy and vegetarian.  A Year of Slow Cooking is going to make my job of becoming re-acquainted with my crock pot a lot easier!

Ready to eat!

Okay, so back to this recipe…I am not including the directions or ingredients since Stephanie lays it out so well.  I did not omit the red onion, however, and I added a few more sweet potatoes since we really like them.  I baked the cubed chicken in the oven while I was preparing the rest of the ingredients.  Lastly, I combined everything the night before and just refrigerated it overnight.  I like to prepare meals the night before so I don’t have to do anything the next day.

This recipe turned out really well – my husband and I both really liked it.  My 16 month old ate some of it and of course, the three-year old wouldn’t even eat a bite (typical!).  The next time I make this, I would use less barbecue sauce – it was a bit too much and overpowered the recipe.  I will likely make it again but will try some other crock pot recipes first.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

