A Few of My Favorite Things…

Leave a comment

October 15, 2012 by Gina

I’ve been on a real reading kick lately.  I’m always reading something but I seem to go in cycles where I really read more than average.  I’m in one of those spurts right now.  It all started about a month ago when I found an old list of books that someone had recommended.  I don’t remember who recommended the books, but I know it was about four years ago because of the paper it was written on.  I was either pregnant with Finn or had just had him – it could have been a recommendation from a nurse in the hospital or a friend.  Here is what was written on the paper:

  • Minaret by Leila Aboulela
  • Maps for Lost Lovers by Nadeem Aslam
  • Virgin Blue by Tracy Chevalier
  • Gilead by Marilynne Robinson
  • The Mermaid Chair by Sue Monk Kidd

I just finished The Mermaid Chair last night and read it in just a few days.  Loved it and couldn’t put it down.  I wanted to know where the story was going to go and what was behind these women’s lives.  I have also read Minaret & Virgin Blue, but just couldn’t get into Maps for Lost Lovers despite giving it a good 100 pages and reading the stellar reviews.  I ended up returning it to the library…unread.  I’m starting Gilead now.  Check out our “What We’re Reading” tab to read some of the reviews.

I love reading and books, but another favorite of mine is actually sending and receiving mail.  Remember real mail?  The feeling of holding a letter or card in your hand from a friend is such a great thing and a nice surprise.  It reminds you that people are thinking of you in a tangible way.  So, when my friend and fellow blogger, Smitha Katti, decided to launch her own line of printable cards, I was really excited to try them out!  There are birthday cards for little boys and girls, seasonal cards, thank you cards and more.  They are only $0.99 for two of them that you download and print on your own printer.  I printed them on cream-colored cardstock and they turned out beautifully.

These cards are ideal for that birthday or thank you note you need to write and hand-deliver to the person.  There aren’t any envelopes but I always seem to have extra envelopes on hand if I wanted to send one of these cards.  To get an even better price, Smitha is offering a discount to our readers until October 27th!  Just type in “SMILE30” when you check out.  Her website is also a great resource for scrapbooking, crafting and photography ideas!

Lastly, we had some family pictures taken last Friday.  It’s a small miracle when all four of us are actually looking at the camera and nobody is crying, screaming, making silly faces or has a big booger in their nose.  We make an attempt every year and for the

This year’s family picture with J Nack Photography

last two years have used Julie Nack at J Nack Photography.  She’s a mom of three and balancing family and a passion for photography.  She’s captured our family and kids in some great shots without any boogers!  She also has great offers of “mini” sessionsand specials throughout the year.  I love this because most of the time my kids fizzle out after about 20 minutes anyway.  You can subscribe to her newsletter and blog so you don’t miss out on a good deal!

Books, cards and photos – a few of my favorite things right now.  What are you enjoying right now?  We’d love to hear!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

