Nesting – A Rite of Passage

Leave a comment

November 14, 2012 by Gina

So, I’m in the “nesting” phase of my pregnancy.  At 35 weeks today, the baby could really come at any time now.  Especially since I’ve had one at 35 weeks and one at 38 weeks.  I love the nesting phase, despite already being highly organized.  With my second child, I was on my hands and knees scrubbing the kitchen and bathroom floors.  I just couldn’t stand them anymore!  I think Getty arrived the next week (thankfully, to clean floors!).

There’s all the usual stuff to be done – cleaning, stocking up the fridge and pantry, buying some newborn diapers, packing the hospital and kids’ bags, getting out the bins of newborn clothes, blankets, swaddles and the thousands of other things a seven pounder needs.  Why do they need so much stuff when they are SO tiny?

Yet, this time around, I find myself doing different types of nesting then I’ve had to or wanted to do in the past:

1.  Nursery prep – Our 17 month old was still in the nursery until about two weeks ago.  The baby will likely be in our room for 4-6 weeks for convenience, but we wanted to get Getty moved out so everything would be ready.  He’s now rooming with his big brother and the transition has actually gone really well.  He’s had an occasional stay back in his old room if he’s been sick or for naps, but the boys both seem to like having each other in the room.  I also am getting out all the newborn clothes and other items this week to fold and put away.  Newborn diapers are already checked off the list.

2.  Meal prep – I never made meals ahead of time in anticipation for either of my other children.  But, Carin, Melissa and I are doing a freezer workshop with a Wildtree consultant this weekend and making TEN meals in 90 minutes!  I can’t wait to have some meals ready to go in the freezer when this baby arrives.  I could use that now!  Plus, what a great way to socialize!

3.  Holiday shopping – I’m a planner anyway so I usually have my holiday shopping done early.  But, nothing like having or wanting to get all the holiday shopping done before this baby arrives.  I don’t want to worry about buying Christmas gifts and wrapping them so I’ve got almost all the gifts bought and plan to wrap them all this week.  I even have my gag gift for my family member this year (the best part of our family Christmas tradition).  It’s so funny – I can’t wait for my person to open it!!  I almost peed my pants (not joking on that one) when I saw it in the store.

4.  Scrapbooking – I’m determined to get caught up on all my scrapbooking and photos before this baby arrives.  I’ve had to go digital to get this job accomplished.  My albums aren’t as creative or fun using Shutterfly or Snapfish as they were the traditional scrapbooking method.  But…they are done! I’ve recently finished Getty’s baby book and am caught up through April 2012.  Only 7 more months to go and I’ll be completely caught up.  I better get on it!

So my nesting this time around isn’t centered around cleaning and organizing the typical things I’ve done in the past.  But I’m definitely nesting and getting prepared to have this baby.  And like Melissa’s post on Monday, I’m feeling excited, anxious and nervous about having #3, despite doing this twice already.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

