One Shade of Grey

Leave a comment

November 16, 2012 by Carin

Sorry this post isn’t anything dirty like title might subtly suggest.  This post is about how I finally completed one of my goals for 2012.  I got my rear in gear and painted my living room and hall way.  Something I have wanted to do for a better part of a year.    I kind of had it in my head to paint it a few weekends ago, but I really wasn’t prepared.  So I got my sh*t together during the week and was ready by Friday night of the following week.  That was a win all in itself.

I recruited my sister to help me do the cutting in around the trim and my husband rolled the walls (which I suck at).  Help is the only way this job got done in 6 hours.  If I was left to do it all by myself, I would still be painting!

The room started out with a red wall and beige-y walls that were looking drab and dingy.  The curtains we had up were stained with kiddy hand prints and even a peeing accident.  The room was ready for a change and so was I.  I have been in love with grey rooms for a while now; I know I know it is a trend right now to have grey walls, cabinets, furniture and so on.  So we will just say I am on the grey bandwagon.  I picked Behr Premium Plus Ultra in Natural Grey which is a really nice neutral grey that isn’t too blue, too green or anything in-between.   It also is a light grey that doesn’t feel dark, but really lightens up the room to make it feel fresh and light.  I LOVE IT!  We have a small living room and it really opens up the room and feels so much brighter, even on a cloudy day.

The Behr Premium Plus Ultra was great to work with.  It is paint and primer all in one and it went on the walls like “butter”! I picked up 2 gallons at Home Depot.  We had at least 3/4 of a gallon left over because it covered so well and only required one coat.  I could have bought 1 gallon and a quart and had more than enough.   There are no areas of beige peeking through and the coverage is really consistent.  I would totally recommend this paint.  It is a little stinky when applying, but the smell goes away with in a few hours.   It really is a great paint.

The day after painting I headed to Cost Plus World Market and picked up some new curtains.  As mentioned above, our old curtains had seen better days.  With some good points made by my sister, I went with a darker curtain with a color print to help hide any kid hand prints and kid messiness.  While they aren’t necessarily a pattern I love, they were affordable and gave the room the POP of color I desired.

So lets take a look at some before and afters!

The “I am so over RED” red wall

After

I still need to do some styling of the shelves to make them a little less picture heavy and  as my sister would say add a few more “chotsky” type things to break it all up. Also I need to switch out the red lampshade to a more neutral color and get a few new throw pillows to carry the curtain colors into the room.

Our “bar” that is devoid of all bar accessories and pictures from our travels

New curtains with color!

I totally love how the room looks and feels now and so happy we took a Saturday to update a room in our home.  It was well worth the time.

What projects are you up to this weekend?  Are you itching to do some painting over the long Thanksgiving weekend?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

