Stick a Fork in Me – I’m Done!

Leave a comment

November 26, 2012 by Gina

In two days I’ll be 37 weeks pregnant and let me tell you, I’m done!  I’m ready to birth this baby and have a whole new set of challenges and issues.  I know the longer I can cook this look Corcoran the better, but these last few weeks have been really difficult.  I apologize in advance but this is going to be a bit of a complaint blog today!  If you’ve ever been pregnant, you’ll understand.  I hope you don’t have too many flashbacks!

This is my third pregnancy so you’d think I’d be used to this but I seem to have forgotten.  I guess that’s why I’m on my third child.  If I didn’t forget about this stage of work and pain in a pregnancy, we’d all only have one child.  Despite being really uncomfortable, this has probably been my easiest pregnancy from a medical standpoint – no bedrest, no hospitalizations, very little monitoring.  I’m still working and doing all of my normal activity.  I’m just doing it crabby, tired and complaining (particularly to my husband)!

I am really ITCHY which is very odd.  I think it’s because all of my skin is stretched to the limit.  Nothing is helping – Benadryl doesn’t even help and last night I couldn’t sleep because I was busy scratching my top layer of skin off.  The itching is really bad and is mostly on my feet and legs, which of course, I can’t reach my feet.  This poses a whole other set of issues!

I’m tired of carrying around an extra 30-35 pounds.  That’s about a third of my body weight and I can really tell.  My back hurts, my legs hurt, my hands and feet are swollen up to medium-sized sausages.  They never get back to normal and the only cure will be having the baby.

I’m EXTREMELY tired.  I just can’t sleep.  I probably average about four hours each night and that’s not all in a row.  Brian snores, I hear the boys wake up over the monitor, I’m itching my skin off, the cat meows its head off to get in the garage and I’m up every two hours to use the bathroom.  I think this is nature’s way of getting you ready to be awake in the middle of the night with a newborn.  I’m frankly exhausted and know that I will be until this baby turns about one or so.  I’ve been napping when I can but it’s not the same.

I could go on and on but you get the picture.  I’m ready to have a happy, healthy little pink (okay yellow – my kids are always jaundice to begin with) baby.  I’ll deal with those challenges when they arrive.  Could be any day now – could be a few more weeks.  I’ve heard that pedicures induce labor.  Maybe I’ll go get one after work tonight.  If it doesn’t make me go into labor, I’ll at least have nice toes!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

