Craft {Christmas Jars}

2

December 10, 2012 by Carin

Happy Monday!

I finished up my Christmas decorating last week after a quick trip to Target to pick up a few things we needed and a few ornaments to fill some jars and vases I had laying around.  I love my apothecary jars with lids that I got for  Christmas 3 years ago and I try to have a few out during the changing seasons.  Some seasons I get creative with how I use them and others they just sit empty.

After seeing a lot of images this summer/fall of terrariums and thinking I should make one or two, but never getting around to it, my jars sat empty all summer.  This fall I filled a few with some leaves and other fall-ish dried matter.  With Christmas on the way I got a little inspiration from Pinterest and various other blogs. So this year I found myself filling my jars and a vases.

So, what did i put in them you ask?  Fake snow and glittery, sparkly animals!

Supplies:

Fakes snow that is used for snow villages

Animals or special ornaments, a toy car with a fake tree tied to the top and so on.  I found my at Target – deer/bear/penguin, owl

Vessels such as large apothecary jars, vases, empty fish bowls, ect.

Some imagination (optional!)

 

I filled my vessels with the fake snow, plunked an animal ornament in it with a sparkly disco ball ornament or fresh greenery and placed them around our living room.  The kids thought they were fun and Grace loves to point them out to people when they arrive at our house.  This project is easy peasy and almost makes an ordinary object feel special or extraordinary that you want to display it in such a fun and special way.

 

This is what I came up with:

IMG_0737

 

Penquin Bear Owl

 

 

And to make sure we have something that reminds us of spring and new life as Christmas nears, I planted some paperwhite bulbs that will be or close to blooming when Christmas arrives in a few weeks.

Paperwhites

 

 

2 thoughts on “Craft {Christmas Jars}

  1. Home Seasons says:

    Cute Christmas jars! Love the one with the deer and polar bear. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

