Holiday Randomness

Leave a comment

December 21, 2012 by Melissa

I always love this day of the year-just a few short days until Christmas and the days start getting longer from this point on. That fact has gotten me through many a cold dark Januaries. (Januarys?) Today, I’ll be cooking and baking up a storm as well as we’re leaving tomorrow for my parents house in northern Minnesota to celebrate Christmas over the weekend. We’re doing a pasta bar dinner tomorrow night (a fantastic idea of my sister-in-law, Robyn) and I’m doing, what else, but dessert. It’s been requested that I make chocolate bread pudding as it was a possibility for Thanksgiving but got vetoed in favor of cheesecake. I’ve found a recipe from Martha Stewart (but may check out other websites today) although I’ll be replacing the cinnamon raisin bread with a wonderful Challah bread that I get from our local Byerly’s. Um, yum. I’m also making a raspberry ricotta mousse for my girls as they can’t have all the eggs in the bread pudding. I got the recipe from Giada de Laurentis and it looks to be the perfect ending for a carborific dinner of pasta and garlic bread. I can’t wait to try it out.

I’m also making a buttered apple cider, with bourbon for every adult but me. Holy cow does this sound like the perfect drink for a cold night with family. The kids and I will be having the drink sans booze, sadly.

We’ll  be opening our family presents tonight as we’ll be all over the state for the next several days. It’s been so fun and nostalgic to see my 3 year old count presents and ask which ones are hers and get so excited to see newly wrapped presents under the tree after she wakes up in the morning. I distinctly remember doing similar things. The holidays are starting to get really fun now that she gets what’s involved. Makes it all so magical again.

Speaking of magic, I have been feeling baby move around a lot the last several days. I love that part of the pregnancy when it’s just you and the baby getting to know one another. It becomes very real and really lovely.

I want to wish everyone a happy and safe holiday next week or whenever you celebrate. May you have abundant family and/or friends, warm food, and joy all around you. I am turning my electronics off to snuggle in with my husband and girls next week. We’ll all be back and blogging again the following week.

Merry Christmas! You survived the apocalypse!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

