Happy New Year 2013!

Leave a comment

January 2, 2013 by Gina

Happy New Year everyone!  I say this every year, but how did it become 2013 already?  Seems like I was just a young punk ringing in the new millennium (in Brussels, Belgium).  Now I’m married with three kids and no sleep in the near future.  We had a terrific New Year’s Eve celebrating at Carin’s house with all our kids.  We enjoyed a meal of chili, salad, cornbread and appetizers.  We counted down to the new year around 7pm and dropped balloons and candy from the ceiling while singing “Auld Lang Syne” (at least the words we could remember).  All the kids played really well together, the adults enjoyed some wine, beer and each other and only one child was injured (Getty suffered a bloody nose after falling on the kiddy trampoline). 

So now that we’ve rung in the new year, it’s time to think about resolutions or goals for this year.  I haven’t fully formulated my goals and resolutions yet, but I do have a few:

  • be more patient with my husband and kids.  I’m not sure how I’m going to quantify this one since it’s a bit subjective, but I just know that I need to calm down and relax about some things that always push my buttons (i.e. leaving on time, a clean house, the kids’ night time schedule).
  • run at least one race.  I’m setting my standards pretty low here but since I haven’t run a race since 2009 I thought I better do something that was achievable.  Since I KNOW I won’t be pregnant or giving birth this year, I’m looking forward to getting back to more running (heck, ANY running).
  • Buy less “stuff”.  This ties in with my 2012 resolutions and goals of not buying ANY new clothes.  I’m not going to do that again, despite doing really well with it. I only bought new clothes 2 or 3 times and spent a total of about $250-300.  But, I do want to be more aware of what I’m buying and bringing into the house, especially things we don’t really need.  I tend to buy alot of bags – it’s a problem.  Maybe I should resolve not to buy any bags or purses this year.  Oh…that might be harder than new clothing!
  • take my Daisy Blue business to the next level.  I am really enjoying being a consultant for Daisy Blue Naturals and want to increase my business and add consultants this year. 

I’m sure there are a few other things I haven’t thought of but that’s the nice thing about goals – you can always add to them.

What is your New Year’s resolution or goal for 2013?  What are your dreams and ambitions?  It always helps to write them down or say them out loud.  Enjoy this year!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

