In Search of Running Goals

Leave a comment

February 28, 2013 by Carin

goal

Hello a day late!  Yesterday didn’t start out great and by mid-day I needed a nap when I should have been blogging, so please forgive me.  The nap saved the day and the afternoon was much better.

A little update!  We sold our house over a week ago after being on the market for a little less than three weeks and then 5 days later we put an offer on a new house that was accepted.   We will be moving mid-April and I can’t wait to take you all on our adventure.  We are really excited and the kids and dog will finally have a big yard to play in!

So the real point of today’s post is my lack of running goals for 2013.  If you are new to our blog since last fall, you probably don’t know that I love to run and completed several races last year, two of which were marathons.  So for me to go into 2013 without any idea what races I am running and have yet to register for one is a little odd.  I am not sure what my problem is.  I love to train and race, so why can’t I figure this out and register for one already?  It has been on my mind the last week or so because I am starting to feel like I need a little direction, a goal, something to work toward.  I have been going to the gym all winter and getting good workouts in. No long runs, but maintenance runs, weights and abdominal work.  I feel like I have maintained a good base and have been working all winter thus far to be ready for race season, yet here I am unregistered.

I think part of my problem is I since we put our current house on the market in January, I was feeling uneasy registering for any races without knowing when or if we were going to be moving.  I didn’t want to register for a race to have it land close to or on moving day and feel tired and stressed by the packing/unpacking process.  Now that we know when we are moving, I feel like so much of my time will be working on the new house, i.e. painting, decorating, furniture shopping, getting settled, ect.

Another part of my problem, I don’t want to half-ass my training, run a race and then feel like I let myself down by not doing as well or better as last year.  Stupid, I know.  But I am very competitive with myself and am always striving to run faster and better.  When I commit myself to a program, I am in 100% and only doing part of or some of the training plan is not an option.

I looked back on my training log from last year and by this time it was warm and I was running outside on a regular basis.  March was crazy warm and I ran a St. Patrick’s Day weekend race last year in shorts and a tank top.  With the temps just now getting above freezing, my mileage is down along with my endurance.  This winter feels long, LONG and it is sucking the life out of me.  I only hope that March brings some much need sunshine and warmer weather and may be that will kick start my motivation to get going on some races this year.

Lastly, I am pathetically focused on our new house.  This is the house I finally get to put my touch on and really buy all the fun furniture, rugs, accessories, etc. that I have been waiting several years to purchase.  We have been waiting till we moved to really spend money on new items so that they worked with our “forever” or “long-term” house.  I have been obsessively searching the internet and Pinterest for ideas.  I am really excited and can’t wait to move into our new house.

So, yes I do have other things on my mind, but running keeps my mind clear, my body healthy and my spirit up.  I just need to find that one race that will get me just as excited as our new house and go for it.   Readers, just tell me to get my act together and plan out my races! Okay?

Do you run?  What races do you have planned for 2013?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

