Taco Bites!

Leave a comment

March 12, 2013 by Carin

Serving food to kids in new and interesting ways is always a sure way to get them to eat something new or in some cases not eat.  This past week I tried a few new things.  A friend had mentioned that she had used toothpicks one night to get her 2.5 year old to eat meatballs.  Grace has been avoiding eating fruit lately, so one afternoon for lunch I served up a bowl of fruit with some toothpicks and you know what?  She ate the whole bowl and asked for more!!  Score one for Mom.

This past Sunday I tried a new way of serving tacos.  I usually serve them in tortillas which usually makes them a toddler nightmare.  So when I stumbled upon Taco Bites on Pinterest I thought this might just work. Taco Bites are taco meet served in wonton wrappers and topped with cheese.  They were a hit with the husband, almost 4 year old and mom.  The almost 2 year old, not so much, but he is pretty picky with his meat these days, so he got extra helpings of fruit.  The taco bites are super easy to make and you can create a taco bar set up with your extras to make it more fun and personalized to each family member.

Here is what I did:

1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

2. I took 1lb. of ground turkey, but use whatever ground meat you have on hand and I added 1 diced yellow onion to my pan along with my favorite taco seasoning.

Browning the meat

Browning the meat

 

3. While the turkey and onion cooked, I greased a 12 cup muffin tin and put one wonton wrapper in each cup, pushing it down a little to form a cup shape.

4.  When the turkey was thoroughly cooked, I put a few tablespoons in each wonton cup.  Then I topped each cup with some shredded, mild cheddar cheese. readyfor the oven

5. Place in the oven for 8-10 minutes, till the wonton wrapper is starting to brown.

6. Remove from oven and place Taco Bites on plates or platter. finalproduct

7. Enjoy!!

I also prepared some topping for our Bites.  I diced a tomato, warmed some black beans, diced an avocado and pulled out some sour cream and salsa.  I served ours with some fresh pineapple and strawberries and they were delicious.  We enjoyed having a creative and fun way to eat our tacos.

Side note:  I find our wonton wrappers in our produce section at our grocery store.  They area an item that needs to be refrigerated.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

